We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dakota Zoo

The Dakota Zoo
Arbor Avenue, Box 711, Bismarck, ND 58502-0711
701-223-7543
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Bismarck
Attraction details
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice family time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This zoo is clean and well kept, it is easy to walk through and has a wide selection of animals. There is a small food shop and a nice gift shop. When my son Was young, we bought season passes and would go 3, 4 times a week in the evening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    38
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Smaller Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Dakota Zoo in Bismarck is a wonderful, smaller, zoo and a great value. They have a wild cat exhibit, bears, wolves, birds of prey, moose, bison, elk, and a fantastic petting zoo. Take the train ride around and then walk back through your favorite areas to look at the animals upclose.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice small zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you want to go to a fun old time Zoo, this is the ticket. I have taken my grand kids to the Denver Zoo and the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo in Colorado Springs but they still like the interaction of the Dakota Zoo the best

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to bring family and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time, friendly staff. Very clean, nice set up. Enjoyed the train ride.
They are doing a great job expanding the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice, especially for children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice little quaint zoo. We loved the Bears, Tigers, and the best was the monkeys that looked like Gremlins! It was really nice and had so many animals. I plan to go back when the weather is warmer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dakota Zoo also viewed

 

Been to The Dakota Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dakota Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.