We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Much...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Toasted Frog

The Toasted Frog
124 N. 4th St., Bismarck, ND
701-751-2229
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 141 Restaurants in Bismarck
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Toasted Frog is a fun, inviting, restaurant and lounge located in the heart of downtown Bismarck. With a polished casual atmosphere and a diverse menu, The Toasted Frog has a little bit of something for everyone. Extensive martini, wine, and beer lists, along with a large selection of spirits from around the world, The Frog is a great place to meet friends for drinks. Our dinner menu is varied, serving appetizers, soup and salads, lavosh, wood-fired pizzas, sandwiches, as well as entrees. We have nightly changing specials, including fresh fish flown in each week from Honolulu, Hawaii. Whether it's a pound of wings and a couple of beers, or a nice steak and a bottle of wine, The Toasted Frog can accommodate you.YOU MUST BE AT LEAST 21 YEARS OF AGE TO DINE AT THE TOASTED FROG. We take reservations for groups of 8 or larger, otherwise seating is on a first come, first served basis. Open Monday through Saturday at 4 p.m., closed Sundays. See you soon at The Frog!
United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not So Much...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The name of this place piqued our curiosity, so we went in for drinks and dinner, but never did eat, because it just didn't "smell" right. It needs cleaning and it needs atmosphere. The bar is interesting, and the wine list is good, but we left after one drink and ate elsewhere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    44
    20
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Treated like a queen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had been on the road for three days, headed to Montana. Fargo had left us wanting, but Bismarck saved the day. When we asked about a nice restaurant for dinner, The Toasted Frog was suggested as the best date place in town, and it proved to be so. Roasted pork tenderloin, juicy and delicious, with whipped white cheddar mashed potatoes for me, and Mahi Mahi fish tacos for my companion. The scotch was poured liberally, and when dinner was over, they put the Green Bay Packer game on for us to watch (even though it was a preseason Thursday night game). Everyone was so friendly, and very professional. Honestly, we would consider driving all the way back, just for dinner. Great job!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Set up as a bar and it is a bar. At the same time, the menu pleasantly surprised us with its variety. Friendly service and excellent food. Located across the street from Pirogue; both are excellent choices for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A toast to the Frog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice all around: nice decor, nice service, very nice food. My wife enjoyed the walleye and I liked the prime rib sandwich. Nice job, Mr Frog.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable evening with great food, cocktails and staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Having read positive reviews for the Toasted Frog on TA, we read the menu while wandering around downtown Bismarck checking out other restaurants but the menu with the added bonus of outside seating clinched the Toasted Frog for us. The restaurant is very large inside and very popular with only around 8 tables outside on the sidewalk, which we decided to wait for. We waited for a good twenty minutes on a very busy Friday night but it was worth waiting for. Between us we had Chicken Noodle Soup, Baked Brie, Fish Tacos, Margherita Pizza, a Pasta Special and Smores. For drinks we had a Lemon Drop Cocktail and a Nutty Raspberry Cocktail ($8 each). The staff were very friendly and the front of house guy (so sorry we did not get your name) was great and gave us a complimentary cocktail to try while he spent time chatting away to us. Once the sun went down, the temperature dropped rapidly and we were the only diners who remained outside; they have only recently started putting tables outside but if they invest in some patio or wall mounted heaters, they will be able to extend the outside season and also continue using the tables after the sun has set. The bill was $85 including the cocktails but before the tip and it was all very enjoyable; we would definitely recommend The Toasted Frog and would return if back in the Bismarck area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toasted Frog also viewed

 

Been to The Toasted Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toasted Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.