We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Expressway Inn of Bismarck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Expressway Inn of Bismarck to your Saves list
Expressway Inn of Bismarck
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 E. Bismarck Expressway, Bismarck, ND 58504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HOTEL WEBSITE=BEST RATE!
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Bismarck
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were in Bismarck for a family funeral and the people at the front desk were very helpful with directions and taking care of us. They said that we could use the breakfast room to gather in.
Our room was comfortable and had a fidge, microwave and coffee pot. Tea would be nice too.

Room Tip: Our room had a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
20
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Good: Rooms are good sized, and clean. Rates are reasonable for the money spent.
The Bad: Rowdy group of teens and early 20 year olds were at the hotel on the 2nd and 3 rd floors, partying till 2 - 3 AM in the hallways. Lots of loud voices, beer bottles on the floor, and beer coolers holding doors open. Bad nights sleep after 3 AM. The front desk clerk had to have known this was going on.
The Ugly: Although I paid for 5 days, I got little sleep on the 4th evening. I arrived at the hotel the next afternoon (Sat) to catch up on lost sleep, but found the car parking lots full of teens, drinking with chairs blocking the entrance to the hotel parking lot. I checked out that afternoon (Sat) after getting beer thrown on my car. The hotel staff did not offer to refund Saturday evening for which I didn't stay due to conditions. The staff just did not seem concerned about other guests, and seemed to be more interested in finances than guest satisfaction. I will not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you chose this hotel to insure there are no groups of teens or 20's there during y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bissales, Director of Sales at Expressway Inn of Bismarck, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Lynn,

I apologize for your unhappy stay. Unfortunately for family travelers, Bismarck, ND was hosting the Mcquades National Softball Tournament last weekend. And due to the rainy weather, players were hanging around waiting for the tournament to resume. We host this every year, and this is a rough weekend for family to travel. I apologize if our staff did not seem empathetic to you and I hope that you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Pros:.Nice large indoor hot tub, outdoor pool and picnic area. Friendly staff.

Cons:
VERY outdated. Mattresses need replacement. One elevator was out of order. Bathroom was not clean. Stains by tub and toilet.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have stayed here twice. Very friendly staff. Rooms are not fancy but clean. Only thing I would suggest is that they invest in new towels as the ones they have are rough and discolored looking. Great location to the mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is close to the Civic Center and Kirkwood Mall. Several restaurants nearby. The prices for hotels in Bismarck have gone up in price due to the oil field workers coming into town on the weekends. Even Motel 6 is close to $75 per night. Crazy. The hotel breakfast was the standard fair of pastries, cereals, waffles, muffins. Nice exercise room and indoor pool. The parking lot is small and there's construction all around this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel room almost paid for itself in lieu of airport parking charges. They offer airport shuttle which is a very nice plus. We have stayed there several times and the rooms are very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Good rates, clean, but needs lots of work. AC/heat unit very noisy. Had to turn off. Luckily the weather was not hot/cold or would have been miserable. Staff advised the hotel is being upgraded in 2014. Stay away until then. If you like Hilton Garden Inn, Hampton, or Holiday Inn Express go to these places instead. This is more of a 'value hotel'.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Expressway Inn of Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expressway Inn of Bismarck

Address: 200 E. Bismarck Expressway, Bismarck, ND 58504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Expressway Inn of Bismarck 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expressway Inn of Bismarck is a smoke free-pet free facility located close to everything that you will need while in Bismarck. We are three blocks away from the Bismarck Civic Center. Across the street is the area's largest shopping mall, Kirkwood Mall. We are five blocks from the downtown area, and there are about a dozen great restaurants within walking distance. We are the closest hotel to the Cottonwood Soccer Complex and Cottonwood Softball Complex. The Dakota Zoo is five blocks away, and the State Capital is one mile North of us. We have a variety of sleeping rooms, varying from Economy Single Rooms which are perfect for the cost conscious businessman all the way up to Executive Suites for guests that like a little luxury while they are here. You can also enjoy our 42 person hot-tub or during summer months, relax by our outdoor pool. We also serve an expanded continental breakfast, provide free airport and hospital shuttle, and have free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Expressway Inn of Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expressway Hotel Bismarck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expressway Inn of Bismarck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.