We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly slipping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Bismarck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Bismarck to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Bismarck
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 Skyline Crossings, Bismarck, ND 58503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sadly slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My third review of this hotel, it is also the most disappointing visit. The employees are fine. But the room in which I was put was rough around the edges and in need of a more thorough cleaning. The carpet in my particular room was very shoddy, with it frayed and snagged. There actually had been a patch in the center of the room that was noticeable. The desk had not been wiped off since the previous traveler, and so there were smudges and dried "stuff" on the desk. None of these things are deal breakers, but I had paid a rather large amount of money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWS_Bismarck, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Bismarck, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We are so sorry that your stay wasn't up to expectations. We will use your comments as a training tool for our housekeeping staff. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again!

Mandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
6
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have been a travel nurse for 3 years. I have never stayed at an extended stay before. Due Bismarck as a city, the city is not dog friendly so my employer needed to put me in a dog friendly extended stay. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and suite complex. It is very clean, quiet, accomdiating and has a "home-like feeling." The staff is extremly friendly every day and they make a point to engage with the customers. I am able to get packages sent to the hotel, they have a nice assortment of movies that the customers may check out, and a nice board that you can glance at for upcoming events.

I cannot say enough good things about this place. It gets a straight A+ from me!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWS_Bismarck, Manager at Candlewood Suites Bismarck, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Holly H-

Thank you for your kind comments! We are so glad that you and your pup ended up at the Candlewood Suites!! Keep an eye on the Out and About Board, there are a lot of fun summer events coming up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My brother and I purchased a weekend away for my parents in honor of their anniversary. I read the reviews of all hotels in Bismarck featured on Hotels.com and thought that this hotel would be perfect for them. Modern, new, not too too far from downtown or the mall. (About a 10-15 min drive) What the reviews and hotel description didn't say was that this hotel is more of an extended stay hotel. If you are staying for the weekend (2nights) the hotel does NOT offer maid service. No one changes your towels or makes your bed etc. this was not expected or known upon booking. Also the second day of their stay their rooms cards no longer worked and the lady behind the desk had no reason why and didn't even ask to see their ID to confirm they were even staying there. My parents are not ones to complain about weekend stays in a hotel but they won't be going back to Candlewood Suites again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWS_Bismarck, Manager at Candlewood Suites Bismarck, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Morgann J-

We are so sorry that the Candlewood Suites was not what you expected. We wish we could have made your parents anniversary wonderful! We are an extended stay property which values our long term guests privacy by offering weekly housekeeping. We also offer a light touch service for any guests staying less than a week and are more than happy to come in and freshen up the room should guests request it. We thank you for your comments and will use them as a training tool for our front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Always stay in ihg locations, but have never stayed at a Candlewood, well priced, our room was upgraded to a suite, which was huge. very clean and modern, large work areas (counter top) if needed for business purposes. easy access from I94 but a ways up the road (maybe a mile or so), but worth the the time. everything you want for a comfortable stay, loved the addition of a bag of popcorn waiting in the microwave. Also really appreciated the little shop available for snacks or forgotten incidentals. Great restaurant nearby. Well done Candlewood, Crowne Plaza could take some lessons from you. We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWS_Bismarck, Manager at Candlewood Suites Bismarck, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
mussell123-

Thank you so much for your kind words!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and see us again on your next visit to Bismarck.

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I recently helped my daughter relocate to Bismarck. We stayed the the Candlewood Suites for 4 nights. The kitchenette was nice and they had grills outside for your use. I liked the fact that they would service your room only if you wanted, but if there were anything you needed they were more than happy to help you out. The hotel is on the north side of town which is growing quickly. There is plenty of places to eat nearby. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWS_Bismarck, Manager at Candlewood Suites Bismarck, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Tim D-

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will stay with us every time you come to visit your daughter in her new home city!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We vacation in Bismarck, North Dakota annually. Therefore, we have stayed in many hotels in the area over the years. The Candlewood Suites Bismarck was by far the best hotel we stayed in in all the years. We stayed in a double queen room, which was clean, spacious, and quiet with high ceilings. The first floor room had a full size refrigerator, two burner stove, sink, microwave, coffee maker, complimentary microwavable popcorn, and dishwasher. The water pressure for showering was just like home. It was not too harsh or too little. They had DVD movies for check out in their lending library. Many of the DVD movies were newer releases also. Check-in time with Jeremy was the fastest we have ever had in any hotel we have every stayed at. He was also very friendly and accommodating whenever we needed anything or had a question. Check-out time was average. They also had discounts for local restaurants in the area for staying at the hotel. The pool and hot tub was clean. We will definitely stay at Candlewood Suites Bismarck next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWS_Bismarck, Manager at Candlewood Suites Bismarck, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
yellowstonefan7777-

We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay! It's so great that you come to ND each year for a vacation. Next year at this time the new and improved ND Heritage Center will be completely open and will be a must visit for you! We couldn't be happier about being your new 'home away from home' on your annual visit!

Sara S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Yes, the oil field boom has done crazy things to North Dakota hotel rates. $173 for a meager room with paper thin walls. Why? Because they can......not that you should, though. I was met by a smarmy desk attendant who gave me keys to a room that had been smoked in. A lot. In a state in which smoking in hotels is illegal. Not that they care much about those kinds of things. The room was fairly clean but I had to listen to my next door neighbor doing......okay.....not going there. Free breakfast? Non existent. Value? Non existent. Charm? Non existent. Friendliness? Non existent. You get the picture. Book ahead and stay somewhere else. This hotel is a big no no.

Room Tip: Just stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWS_Bismarck, Manager at Candlewood Suites Bismarck, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
jjfMinnesota-

We apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We appreciate all feedback positive and negative. We will use your comments as a training tool to better our property. We would love it if you would give us a second chance the next time you travel to Bismarck.

Sara S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Bismarck
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Bismarck
Staybridge Suites Bismarck
#9 of 32 in Bismarck
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bismarck Northwest
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Bismarck North
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Bismarck North
Courtyard Bismarck North
#6 of 32 in Bismarck
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Bismarck

Address: 4400 Skyline Crossings, Bismarck, ND 58503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bismarck
#11 Business Hotel in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Bismarck 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bismarck s newest and only extended stay hotel, the Candlewood Suites is not your typical or traditional hotel and that is what sets us apart from the rest! We put amenities where they really count: in our suites!The Candlewood Suites Bismarck offers our long term guests the comforts of home, while providing easy access to area attractions and leading North Dakota businesses.Business-oriented travelers appreciate our hotel's location just minutes from the Bismarck Civic Center, State Capitol, MDU Resources, Williston Basin, Basin Electric, St. Alexius Medical Center, Medcenter One, Bismarck Cancer Center, Bobcat, Aetna, Unisys, Hawktree Golf Course and easy access to Wilton Wind Energy Center, Coal Creek Station Stanton, Falkirk Mine, North American Coal , Minnkota Power Plant, and Oliver County Wind Energy Center. To keep guests connected to family, friends, and co-workers during their stay, free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center are provided in our Bismarck hotel.During your extended stay, our hotel invites you to take advantage of our complimentary guest laundry facilities. An indoor pool and whirlpool, a gazebo grilling patio, a well-equipped fitness center, and a free DVD lending library are also available for your convenience. As you prepare for your trip, we hope you will explore our excellent Bismarck hotel rates and make your reservation with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Bismarck Hotel Bismarck
Bismarck Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Bismarck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.