We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting up close to the Missouri River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Missouri River

Missouri River
Bismarck, ND
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Attractions in Bismarck
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Getting up close to the Missouri River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I am from the Southeast and had never had a chance to see the Missouri River up close. There are various places along its course that you can access the river's edge and see it up close. It was interesting to see a river that was so important to American history. Most of these locations are in the towns along the edge.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Deloraine, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“traveled over it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

it was still frozen the last tome we went over it was alot higher from flooding you could see some damage but that was not the case now

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not the Muddy MO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The river fo rthose of you like me who come from the South....is actually clean and enjoyable. They have dammed the river and have created lakes between the dams. The calm water and flat look of the river make it appear peaceful. I wish I had my rods where I could fish. Downstream, Jefferson City Missouri....the river is wild, high banked, MUDDY....and dangerous with currents and undertows.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What can you say about a River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Love the fishing, catching Northern Pike is the best....dog gone sand bars play a big role as they keep moving....go figure with a strong current....

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corry, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Always a Great Place to Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent a day with a relative on the river fishing. Small Walleyes and one decent sized Northern Pike. Was a great fall day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missouri River also viewed

 

Been to Missouri River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Missouri River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.