We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to fill your belly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trapper's Kettle Restaurant

Trapper's Kettle Restaurant
803 Highway 85 N, Belfield, ND 58622-7404
701-575-8585
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Belfield
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place to fill your belly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent soup & salad bar! Terrific atmosphere! I had the cod & it's was alright, but the deep fried coating was a bit thick. Hamburger steak was great! All in all, well worth the stop!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greentop, Mo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Trappers Inn Aug 19 2012, the next morning we had breakfast at the Trappers Kettle. We had the buffet and it was excellent, lot of choices, all that we tried was very good. Since I'm an avid hunter I especially enjoyed the atmosphere, it is decorated with some excellent taxidermy work, antiques and steel traps of all kinds and sizes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

In a richly authentic atmosphere, if a bit morbid for animal lovers (rows and rows of animal traps, lots of stuffed heads of game: pronghorns, moose, a bobcat, etc.), the buffet was rich, varied and ample. There were lots of good non-fried vegetable dishes and excellent meat dishes. The desserts were a bit lackluster, but there was variety there, too. All-in-all a very good value, friendly atmosphere, and a very welcome stop after hiking and photographing in Theodore Roosevelt Memorial National Park.—JSS, Union, NJ

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, service not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Food was good and plentiful. Breakfast blueberry pancakes were huge. Breakfast waitresses were very friendly and efficient but the two we had for dinner were a disappointment. Had to ask for straws from both, neither refilled ice tea. The second night we sat down and had no silverware. When she brought the food we had to ask for silverware and she brought a handful and dumped them in them in the middle of the table and said pass them around guys. Not what you would expect from a decent restaurant. The ambiance was very nice and there were many interesting things to look at. All in all we would eat there again but management needs to give their wait staff some training.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Old West Atmosphere with Good Oldfashioned Pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Like the name infers, Trappers Kettle's atmosphere inside and out is a rustic, western log cabin look. Large dining areas with lots of old west memorabilia hanging on the walls as well as several mounted animals/busts on the walls. We stopped in for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. The pancakes were large, light & fluffy on the inside and nice & crispy around the edges. Some of the better ones I've had on the road. Most sides are delivered to your table in iron frying pans. My egg over-easy came in it's own very small frypan. While the biscuits and gravy did not contain alot of sausage, the gravy still had good flavor. The place had several tables of truckers and local ranchers, so our waitress was busy, but very efficient and friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trapper's Kettle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Trapper's Kettle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trapper's Kettle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.