We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites are great - restaurant not so much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shell Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Shell Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2700 North Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
Hotel amenities
Waynesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Suites are great - restaurant not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the SIR for a conference and was pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. My suite was a corner unit with a spectacular view. The room is really a suite - a bedroom, a full bath and a half bath, kitchen with stove top, refrigerator, microwave, coffee and a sitting area - with balcony large enough for several people.

The restaurant was a bit disappointing. Since this is the last resort on the island and there aren't other options within walking distance, they have a captive audience and it showed.

The parking deck is the lowest I have ever seen (6'6" clearance) so don't plan on parking a large vehicle here. That being said, it was very convenient and the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front which is very nice. This would be a great place for a family vacation or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear CharlesJefferson,

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your business. I couldn’t agree more that Shell Island Resort has the best view of the Atlantic Ocean from our rooms. As guest service is our top priority, I am pleased that our staff was kind and accommodating to your family. Please give me a call at 910-256-8696 to further discuss your experience in the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon at Wrightsville Beach!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    142
    59
    45
    22
See reviews for
168
115
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

When I read through these reviews & look at the pictures posted here I wonder if I stayed at the same property? My extended family vacationed here this summer -- we had four rooms on the same hallway.

The good - location, location, location. The beach is beautiful at this end of Wrightsville Beach - nuff said. Beautiful views from rooms - all of which are oceanfront. Balconies rather small though.

The bad - well I am looking through pictures of suites that other travelers have posted & can see we drew the short end of the straw in room assignment. This is a condo-type resort and the units are individually owned & decorated. Honestly, there needs to be a bit more oversight on the part of management. All the rooms we were in were fairly outdated -- one had what I would consider fairly dirty furniture in the living area including a cracked dining room table. Cheap accessories, just worn out looking -- for the price we paid, we were expecting much nicer -- like the updated units that are displayed on the website & here.

The pool area is small & wasn't really kept too clean. And it would be really nice if they took advantage of the beautiful location & there was a view of the beach.

Ate at the restaurant once - again, I am not a professional but why not take advantage of the beautiful location & get rid of the sterile white walls and inject a bit of ambience into the place? Prices, decor and quality of food at dinner made it a one-stop dining spot.

Yes, the staff was nice but at the prices charged in peak season you'd expect the accomodations to be five star -- they need to do a review of all the rooms and hold the owners accountable.

Room Tip: Ask to see pictures or request an updated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear carolina1216,

We appreciate your business and thank you for staying at Shell Island Resort. We agree that the views of Wrightsville Beach and the ocean are fabulous from the resort and that we have the most beautiful stretch of beach on our island. This off season, there will be a major renovation project focusing on the rooms and the next time you are in the area, please call me at 910-256-8696. I will ensure that you get a room that is up to your standards. We hope to see you again at Wrightsville Beach soon!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was one of the nicest I've ever stayed in! Very nice rooms, nice pool area, and right on the beach! Beautiful view of sunrise from our balcony facing the beach and beautiful view of the sunset from our front door/hallway overlooking the harbor. We brought our own beach chairs but otherwise they sell chairs on the beach.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear 617JG123,

We are happy you enjoyed your visit here at Shell Island Resort. We are in complete agreement that the sunrises on the beach and the sunsets along the marsh are the best in the country. I hope that you can come back soon to enjoy the quiet and clean beach which is perfect for a romantic weekend or a quick family getaway.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a great girls weekend at Shell Island Resort, the view was absolutely beautiful, the beach was quiet, clean and beautiful. Jamie was great at the front desk, he answered all our questions about the local places to visit. Our room was large, with yahoo, 2 private bathrooms! I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: top floor, not sure if there is a bad room in the place but we stayed on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear debcer5,

Thank you so much for staying with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit at Shell Island Resort. We could not agree more that the resort has a pristine location on the beach with gorgeous views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balconies of the rooms. Jamie is a great addition to our team and I am pleased that he was helpful in your search for local places to visit. We hope to see you again at Wrightsville Beach soon!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Shell Island Hotel for a conference the week of October 15-18 and had a wonderful time! Meredith the hotel manager was very accommodating,helpful and did all she could to meet the requests of our group. George who assisted with conference room set-ups and food service preparations throughout our stay was very professional, courteous and also very accommodating to our needs and requests! All of the staff were very friendly and courteous!

Room Tip: The higher level rooms obviously maximize the ocean view but all of the rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Eric C.

Thank you for staying with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I am happy to hear that Meredith and George were very helpful and accommodating to your requests. Shell Island Resort is happy to have the two of them on our team. As guest service is our number one priority, I am especially happy that the staff was courteous and friendly to you. We would love to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I just returned from a large conference that included hotel stay, meeting rooms, meals and vendors interaction. I must say as president of this organization stress for me was at a high level. I quickly realized that one of the staff members George stayed two steps ahead of me, he had everything that we ask for ahead of time plus things we didn't think of. All the staff acted like they were glad to be there always smiling and kind. Thanks a bunch to all the folks at Shell Island for making this conference a great one! In our business meeting we unanimously voted to return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Tim S.

We appreciate your organization staying with us and are pleased that everything went well. George is the best at what he does and he has been giving great guest service for seven years with us. We are truly happy to have him on our team. I also pleased that the hotel staff was good to you as we pride ourselves on our guest service. Please think of us again the next time the beach beckons and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We cannot say enough positive things about Shell Island, Meredith, George, and the entire staff. So helpful, accommodating, easy to work with, great vendor lists to help with music, flowers, etc. The oceanfront setting was perfect for our wedding, the food was delicious, and every request was met with quick response. Our guests were very pleased with the oceanfront accommodations also - some had never been to Shell Island and immediately understood why we love the place.

Room Tip: All are suites with one bedroom (two beds or a king), living/dining/kitchen (well equipped), ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear L Y,

Congratulations on your wedding! We are happy that you could spend that special day at our resort. Meredith and George have had a passion for helping guests for many years and their efforts shine through their work. I am pleased that they were able to take care of your party. Shell Island has a great location at the north end of the island and we invite your family to come back again and enjoy the beautiful views the next time that you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 North Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shell Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.