We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shell Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shell Island Resort to your Saves list
Shell Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2700 North Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband, son and myself visited in February 2013. Upon arrival we were told BOTH elevators were out of service, however there was a service elevator at the end of the hall around the corner. My husband is in a wheelchair so the elevator was necessary. The service elevator was in a little room that was slightly difficult to navigate in a wheelchair but after a few turns he was able to get into the elevator. We were given a room on the 5th floor at the opposite end of the hotel from the only working elevator. It was off season and few guests yet we were given this far away room with a view of the parking deck on one side. When I requested something closer to the elevator or ground floor, we were told that because we had to have handicapped accessible, this was our only option. My husband is a quadriplegic so it was necessary. The handicapped room was not so accessible, only a grab bar or two and very dated. Housekeeping came the second day and put towels in and tied up a bag of trash and left it in our trash can. A bag of chex mix had spilled the night before and wasn't vacuumed nor was coffee supply refilled. This was our second bad experience and our last. While the location/view is beautiful, this hotel is not a great place to stay and is in need of management!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
plaughter67,
Thank you for your honest review of Shell Island. We appreciate hearing all types of feedback in hopes of making adjustments that will allow us to provide everyone with a perfect experience during their visit. The elevator issue was a huge inconvenience for many, and I regret that it had such a negative effect on your stay. This is the reason for the elevator construction taking place, a project that will be completed by the end of this month, just in time for our season! We are pleased to have a new General Manager on the property who has great plans for our future, and hope you will give us one more chance to provide you with the relaxing stay that you deserve.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    198
    89
    55
    33
See reviews for
256
159
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
357 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited again in January 2013 on strength of weather forecast to be sunny and in 70s--in January! Off-season, we almost had the hotel to ourselves. We used to live closer to Wrightsville beach. Now five hours away in Williamsburg VA, but it was worth the trip!
Very friendly and efficient staff from front desk, to maid service, to Shannon who runs the North End Bistro on site. The beach in front of the resort is the best we've seen in North Carolina--white, soft, beautiful sand. Slope of the beach into the ocean is very gradual and friendly to children bathers.
Altogether this was a wonderful getaway for my wife and me. We'll be back again and again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

When reading the reviews for this property, I was a little concerned...I knew WHERE we wanted to go and had stayed at another property which I did NOT want to revisit...We traveled in the off season, and the most important thing to us was a clean, nice place with a comfortable balcony...and we found it. The condo was nicely furnished, a seperate bedroom and living room and the bath had two rooms! One w/ shower and toilet and sink and the other w/ toilet and sink. The kithen w/ small but adequate for vacation get away...Our balcony was TOPS...just what we wanted and needed...They offer two different grades of rooms, we took the regular since the balcony is where we mainly stayed. Best sunrise ever and the breakfast was included for off season and was fabulous...We will return. Staff went out of their way to assist us.

Room Tip: If you are looking for VIEW don't think you can go wrong, All are ocean front..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night in December, so it is difficult to give a full rating. After reading other reviews, it appears that the rooms vary to some degree.
The room we stayed in was nice. The room was not dated, as some had mentioned in other reviews. We were appreciative of the tile floors throughout. We have stayed at some resorts with carpets that are beyond disgusting.
Overall, the room was clean, however the bed seemed to have sand in the sheets. Unfortunately, we went out for the night after checking in and did not get back in until late and did not want to call the front desk and wait for new sheets etc. so late. One of the toilet paper rolls was broken and the front desk offered to have maintenance come up to fix it be we were heading out for the evening. Also, I dropped something under one of the bathroom sinks and found some nasty stuff under there when I went to retrieve it.
The Bathroom was nice and separated into two sections. One had a shower sink and toilet, the other had a sink and toilet. Both had very nice tile on the walls and floor. The shower had two shower heads which could be used at the same time, however the water pressure was not good enough.
The kitchen was nice and well equipped with appliances and utensils. The kitchen, living room and eating are all overlooked the beach. Large windows and a small balcony provided a great view of the beach and ocean.
We did not eat breakfast at the restaurant but were told by another couple that their breakfast was good.
There is an indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub. The outdoor pool looked small for the amount of rooms at the resort. I can see it being very crowded in the summer.
Overall, we had a great stay. The room could have been a little cleaner and the price could have been a few dollars less for the time of year.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront. We got a "premium oceanfront with 1 king bed". I wish I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We moved to NC several months ago so everyone was telling us you had to get to Wrightsville Beach so my wife and I finally piled into the car the weekend of my b-day to see for ourselves. We had a blast! Beach/sand is truly beautiful, soft, clean and the Atlantic Ocean and salt air just can't be beat.

Like the many reviews here, the rooms and property literally faces the ocean so you can open the sliding door on your balcony and hear the waves and feel the breeze. We went in early October on a beautiful mid 80 degree day weekend. Crowds were minimal even with a wedding happening at the hotel that evening right on the beach!

As some have commented, if you are looking for a full service resort like a Hyatt, etc. with multiple outdoor pools, swim up bars, etc. this isn't the place for you. The ocean and beach are literally right there and the property seems very well suited to couples, families, friends gathering for a weekend, etc. who want a nice place to stay and love the beach and some quiet to read/relax, etc. I really liked that the hotel is located in an area that is mostly residential away from the bars, t-shirt shops, etc. You literally follow the one road and it dead ends at the hotel.

Check in: fast, efficient, with no problems. no bellman but parking is right in front of the hotel and there is no charge.

Lobby: very functional, nice atrium with windows that look to the indoor/outdoor pools and beyond that the beach and ocean. Easy access from the garage to your floor.

Restaurant: again, very functional but nice, clean, prices were about what I expected. we ate there late the first night after we got in. Dining room was dead but waitress was friendly, efficient and food was great.

Rooms: Seeing the rooms you can very much see the property is geared toward weekly rentals in the summer. Our corner room on the 4th floor had a small range, microwave, full sized refrigerator, 4-person dining room table, sleeper sofa, nicer flat screen and ceiling-to-floor windows that overlook the ocean and a small balcony with table and chairs so you can sit and have your morning coffee and watch the sunrise.

Bathrooms were a bit odd with a common door separating one from the other but it worked for us. Older fixtures, tiles, vanity and lighting but again you are paying for location.

Bed was a king in a small room but it had a dresser, multiple pillows and was super comfy with a small but functional flat screen.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views of the beach and ocean but higher you go the better. **no retail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wonderful place to stay! Able to completely relax. Seems like the hotel thinks of everything. Very clean. All rooms are oceanfront. Lots of huge seashells up and down the beach. Always has the prettiest sunrise. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed in two different rooms - both very nice and well appointed. TV in living room and bedroom. Bath and a half. Comfy furniture - love the bed pillows!! The balcony is a bit small but the view is simply incredible. You cannot ask for a better view! First timers - ask to see the room before you rent it. We stayed in October and it was quiet, clean and the price couldn't be beat.

Room Tip: Ask if you can view the room first. Stay away from rooms near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
5.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
16.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 17 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 North Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shell Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.