We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WoW! Nice Hotel Right On The Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
S.C.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WoW! Nice Hotel Right On The Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I was really surprised that I was able to book this hotel at the last minute for a weekend getaway with a friend. Actually, we decided at the last minute to take a trip to the beach. Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach was only a couple of hours drive so it seemed a nice place to visit.

I used Priority Club points to book the room; therefore, it did not cost anything for us to stay. Regular price for the trip appears to be around 190-275$ a night depending on the type of accommodations you choose. Personally, I felt that this would be a little bit steep, but I would have paid to stay on the beach and have some quiet time with my friend.

When I arrived, I felt a little bit lost at first. The first floor is underground and is the location of the swimming pool and exits to the boardwalk. The entrance is on the second floor. You can also exit to the parking garage here. The registration desk is on the third floor, upstairs as you enter.

Registration went smoothly. Although the room was not ready when we arrived, the hotel called us an hour later to let us know everything we ready for us. Late checkout was available for the asking. We were also given a $10 voucher to use on at the resort.

Our room was on the seventh floor, private balcony, king size bed, overlooking the ocean. The view was fantastic. The breeze coming off the ocean was incredible. We were also directly over the pool. We sat outside at night after a long walk on the beach, sipping wine, and listening to the band (A staff member told us there was a different band each night.). We felt that the room was a nice size. We had plenty of room. The bathroom was spacious. Everything was clean. We had no complaints.

We finally did turn on the television late that evening; however, we kept it muted. We didn't want to disturb the relaxing sound of the surf.

Room service brought us breakfast, and it was pretty good. Both of us thought that we had plenty of food. Prices again were a little on the high side. 17% gratuity is automatically added to the price and with the room service charge, the price for breakfast and juice for each of us topped off around 27$. We would have saved money going down to eat breakfast, but we did not want to get dressed for it.

Tons of places to eat are available around the area. Nikki's Sushi Bar and Steakhouse is our favorite.

Overall, a great trip. We are looking forward to going back to this hotel again. It was a single night of total relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    148
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
139
133
7
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, md
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Everyone was great at this resort. It's right on the beach and the pool is nice. The only thing that kind of surprised me was that the rooms were on the smaller side. No big deal, it just surprised me. We had a great time though, they coordinated everything for us - rented us bikes, recommended places for us to visit, and offered to drive us to dinner! Great resort! There were an awful lot of families there - not that it's a big deal, but if you don't want to share the pool with kids then you may want to pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Spent one night at the HI Wrightsville Beach en route to the Outer Banks. Really hope to return! We stayed using HI Priority Points so can't comment on rates/value for money. A great location right on the beach with good facilities. Reception staff very welcoming and chatty. Our Oceanfront room was well appointed and clean with a view of the Atlantic to die for! A problem with our safe was resolved by Maintenance within minutes of us reporting it. The outdoor pool area was clean and well maintained with excellent beach access. As time was against us, we ate at the hotel restaurant and had a very passable meal on the terrace. We didn't get the chance to utilise lots of facilities (eg Kids Club) but thoroughly enjoyed our 15 hours there. You need to be aware that it's a busy, lively hotel catering for the holiday maker rather than the businessman (as its name suggests) but if that's what you're looking for, this hotel would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We have a teen ager and preschooler. Both had a great time and so did we. Hotel was clean and staff were courteous.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

I am staying at the Holiday Inn Resort at Wrightsville Beach while my daughter tours and visits with friends at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. The Holiday Inn Resort is less than a twenty minute drive from UNC and offers outstanding ocean vies in a tranquil setting. I could not have been more professionally received, my room was spacious and immaculately clean. Because I had traveled most of the day, I elected to take dinner at the hotel. Before dinner I attended the managers party which had free beer, wine, and h'ors d'ouevres for I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the hotel restaurant served gourmet, not hotel food, and was reasonably priced. This hotel is a good place for couples or families to enjoy some time on a lovely beach. Or, if you have a child who attends UNC, to share in a little beach time while visiting. Clearly, this hotel has a strong management team which is working to deliver an outstanding product!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst,oh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

This hotel goes out of its way too make sure you enjoy your time here, Very clean and well kept, always helpful staff, 2 pools, 1 indoor and and 1 out, 2 hot tubs, 1 kiddie pool, pools are cleaned and sanitized every day. Poolside bar and grill with tropical drinks, beer, soft drinks and all the normal pool and beach grub, pretty good breakfast, lunch and dinner menu which goes from pretty good too excellent because kids EAT FREE in the dining room. Speaking of kids, this place has a baby sitting service for $10 a kid from 6pm till 10pm staffed by college girls in a very secure area of the hotel, and get this, the kids love this place, they eat dinner, play video games and watch movies, 4 whole hours to our selves, that gives us parents time for some private fun (wink,wink), that still leaves 3hrs and 40 mins for dinner out or whatever. Really though, this place is great, the whole beach is in front of you for walks, castle building, swimming ( life guard on duty), if you have kids, you won't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

This has to be one of the best Holiday Inns we have stayed at. It was right on the ocean. The room was really nice and clean and the staff kept the pool area and all other areas clean. We would recomend this hotel to anyhone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Address: 1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Wrightsville Beach, NC hotel. This beautiful oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, low key family fun, water sports and just plain relaxation. The Holiday Inn Resort, formerly known as the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort, has all the comforts of home with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Concierge will schedule your massage or you can relax in the indoor and outdoor pools. This NC oceanfront hotel has something for all ages including a kids activity center (equipped with interactive gaming system), whirlpools, playground, bike rentals, and much more. Everything you need for your vacation in all within your reach. This NC Coastal hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch wide flat panel screen TVs in all guestrooms, full service restaurant/lounge and room service. The resort is conveniently located near shops, dinning, Historic Downtwon Wilmington, and the Wilmington New Hanover International Airport (ILM). Complimentary shuttle service is offered to many locations. Although the resort is not pet-friendly, we can recommend nearby kennels. Service animals welcome. The Holiday Inn Resort is within a short drive to Quintiles, Coldwell Banker Seacoast Realty, Mayfaire Town Center, Verizon, PPD, Autumn Hall, Wieland, General Electric, UNCW and Corning. Located at latitude 34.2198, Longitude 77.7862. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Wrightsville Beach
Wrightsville Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.