We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blockade Runner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blockade Runner to your Saves list
Blockade Runner
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We were very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The retro design and decoration was very tasteful, elegant and modern–not dated. The room was comfortable and luxurious, the view incredible. My fiance and I were engaged out on the nearby Oceanic pier (one of the best restaurants in the vicinity), which is a short walk down the street or beach. Everything about our stay at the BR was perfect from food, to service and comfort. We will return many times, I am sure, so it's nice that we sort of stumbled upon the most affordable (and best) resort in Wrightsville. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    203
    73
    38
    25
See reviews for
208
201
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I really love this place and want to return many times. Overall, my husband and I really enjoyed our stay over one weekend. The location is great for boating, jogging up to the loop, walking on the beach all the way south to Masonboro Inlet and back, sunning, relaxing by the pool with a cocktail, and lots of other water based activities.

I also have respect for the history of this hotel, being the first large hotel to be built post Hurricane Hazel to help tourism in Wrightsville Beach after the devastation. The BR turns 50 this year, and as a big fan of mid-century buildings, I love the fact that this place is still standing and hasn't been replaced by some boring, personality-less replication of condos that have proliferated in beach towns everywhere.

The interior renovation that took place inside the BR a few years back must have been an improvement. It has already taken a beating though, in the upstairs halls and rooms, from what I could see. When we got off the elevator and walked to our room, I had flashbacks of what college dorms smelled like after parties. That wasn't pleasant. Our room was not bad though, in fact it was much better than the hallway. My only issue was that the sound between rooms and from the hall was pretty transparent.

The pool area was nice but could get crowded at times. I love the chic seating and loungers. The bar service was friendly and prompt. Nice selection of beer and cocktails and good appetizers/bar food. The grassy area between the pool and the beach was beautiful, almost like carpet. Great job with all of the landscaping and native plantings!

The bar service inside was knowledgeable and prompt as well. We enjoyed having a few cocktails on a rainy evening before dinner.

Breakfast was not as pleasant. Our room rate included breakfast, but I gather that most occupants had the same deal based on the line to get into the restaurant. We waited quite a while, and it appeared that there were open tables inside. I'm guessing it was a staffing issue. Once we were in, the buffet was pretty good, not outstanding. We didn't return. There are better breakfast options close by.

I hope there are more improvements to come during this 50 year birthday celebration of 2014! I do look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I'm guessing that higher is better. Great water views from both sides of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband, myself adn our two children (8, 11) spent one night and two days at the Blockade Runner in August 2013.

Pros: The Beach was beautiful with large waves. Got to see schools of fish in the waves and actually snapped a really cool picture with them in it. My daughter was in sea shell heaven! We had an ocean view room with the most spectacular view!

Cons: The hotel is showing her age but still all in all pretty good. Renting chairs for the beach was ridiculous. This should have been included in the price. Parking lot filled rather quickly.

Had the breakfast buffet which was actually really good.

We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view room, its really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at the Blockade Runner this past September for a "Staycation" living in Wilmington we were familiar with the options on where to stay. We chose Blockade Runner for its great beach location, room size, upgrades, beautiful views, EXCELLENT staff, delicious food (breakfast was included for us), and above all unique/boutique feel of the hotel that you're not going to experience at chain hotels.

The entire staff was super friendly and did whatever possible to make our stay extra special.

I highly recommend this hotel for couples, families, or even business travelers.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonita springs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Older hotel and parking can get full during season. Views are great for the most part. Lobby is very modern, other parts of hotel not so much. Probably the nicest hotel on wrightsville beach, but not the most efficient or economical. Meals are average as well on our three visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

For an older hotel they really have updated it. We stayed for a weekend in the off season. Beautiful oceanfront room. But honestly you can't get a bad view even if you don't have an oceanfront room! Very friendly staff. Comfy bed. It looks like a beautiful place to have a wedding!! We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Higher floor you can see forever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I am staying in their state room (most expensive room) and it looks amazing but... I can't hear everything going on in the room next to us. Their conversation them having sex its wonderful -_- they are very empty right now so you think they could have just booked them with a room in between.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blockade Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Blockade Runner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blockade Runner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.