We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Blockade Runner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blockade Runner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blockade Runner to your Saves list
Blockade Runner
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Blockade Runner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to the Blockade Runner 10 years ago and really enjoyed it, the breakfast, beach view room, helpful employees and affordable umbrella and chair services on the beach. We want back again this year and we weren't disappointed. The breakfast was still great. I called and asked for a higher floor for better beach views and we were put in the top floor. The staff was really helpful and the affordable umbrella/chair rentals were still there with the staff digging a hole and planting our umbrella and then bringing our chairs just where we wanted them.

An extra kudos to th the hotel. The day we got there a bird had flown into a transformer and the air conditioning was out. They said it would be restored late evening at the earliest. They offered us a similar reservation at two other beachfront hotels, or a free night at the Blockade Runner. As we had been looking forward to coming back to the Blockade Runner we took a chance on staying on. They brought us a fan it wasn't that hot and the air conditioning came back on around 11. We thought this was a really classy way to handle a difficult situation. We will definitely go back next year.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor room for the ocean view. They were very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    208
    73
    38
    24
See reviews for
210
205
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Blockade Runner hotel is wonderful. The staff is awesome and ready to assist you at every turn. Yes, the Hotel is older, but it has been revamped and may be better than it used to be! I loved staying there - the beach is right at your doorstep. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy and it was within walking distance to small shops. This was our 2nd year staying in this beautiful hotel, and we will definitely stay there again when we come to Wrightsville Beach. Oh, and the complimentary hot breakfast was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Blockade Runner is simply an OLD hotel that PARTS of have been revamped. Oceanside rooms do not have traditional balconies. We stayed in an oceanfront with two queens. The mattresses were VERY firm and not very comfy. Overall, it was fine.....but not great. The bathrooms show the age of the place. One perk is the breakfast buffet--it is very convenient and nice that it is included in the price. The concierge was a big help to me in booking surf lessons. The BR is in a great location on the beach, but the price is simply too high for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our first visit to the Blockade Runner and if you are looking for a nice quiet hotel with access to the beach and the sound side, this is the place to be. Yes, the hotel is older but you can tell that they have put effort into to maintaining it as well as upgrading it. The staff was very helpful throughout our 3 day stay. The hotel was fully booked but it did not feel crowded. The beach area had plenty of room with chairs and umbrellas for rent. Landscaped areas were very well kept. The pool is small and primarily used by the children. Many people did not realize that there is also a dock on the sound side, owned by the hotel and you can get cruises, fishing trips and paddle board lessons from that location. Buffet breakfast is included with full service waitstaff. Items included eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, french toast, grits, hash browns, fruits, cereal, yogurt, toast, and pastries. Eating breakfast outside looking over landscaped areas was very nice. Rooms are updated, we had a sound side room with 2 queen beds. If you look at the website they do indicate the difference between the Juliet Balconies and regular full balconies. Most rooms have the Juliet Balcony which is just a sliding glass door with no outside area. Beds are firm. Bathroom is small but has a nice option of using a handheld shower head or a shower head from the ceiling, like a rain forest shower. There is a small dorm size refrigerator in the room. Floors are tiled. Flat Screen TV. We had a 7 th floor room with a very nice view of the Waterway and sunsets. Overall very nice experience with no major issues. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Recommend top floor rooms. To save money, stay on Waterway side, you still get a very nice view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Pros:

Wonderful location on Wrightsville Beach.
Views from the Oceanside rooms is fantastic.
The staff are accommodating and friendly.
The rooms and public areas are clean.
Location is walking distance to restaurants and bars.


The Cons:

Rooms need updating - furniture old and tired. Lighting is terrible.
The hallways leading to the bedrooms are soulless and depressing.
Cost of 2 beach chairs and 1 umbrella is $30 per day. This should be included in room price.
Indoor restaurant decor is cold and utilitarian.
Outside bar/restaurant is expensive for what it is.

Would I go again? Probably, but I would like to see some of the Cons rectified before I visited again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms with a balcony if you can spring for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was marketed as 'the romance package extended weekend'. There is nothing romantic about this hotel other than the location. The place is OLD. Needs updating and repair. Upon check in our room was not up to par. We paid extra for oceanfront and the view was nice. A balcony would have been great but we did not get one. A light was out in the bathroom, and the doorknob was hanging off. We reported this to the front desk and they changed the bulb promptly.
The bathroom was small, had no fan or ventilation, so that was slightly uncomfortable.
There was no rod or line to dry swimsuits on. Being at the beach, that is a necessity.

No safes in the room so we used a safe at the front desk. No problem.

Our first night was less than romantic since something was wrong with the mattress and we felt like we were sinking and rolling into the middle. Could not sleep. Maintenance came the next day to discover that our bed frame was completely BROKEN! They promptly replaced it and also fixed our doorknob. Slept better after that.

My hubby was annoyed at the spotty WiFi. We run a business and need a reliable connection.

The drinks at the pool bar are super expensive for what you get. Price for a piña colada was 15 dollars and it came in a white styrofoam cup with no garnish or umbrella. Had a watery texture.

Daily breakfast buffet was included in our package. If this wasn't included I would NEVER have paid for this bland, low quality breakfast. The muffins were good but most else was tasteless. They served the same yucky buffet daily. By the last day we were sick of it. The restaurant is crowded and the food on the buffet runs out fast and is not always replenished.

Included in our package was a 4 course 'romantic' dinner. We had a waitress in training. She dropped a glass of water in my husbands lap! She did not return after that. The lobster bisque was excellent. The rest of the food was bland and my steak was rare. I like steak more well done. Waitress never checked on us to see if everything was ok. Finally my husband went to get someone to re-cook my food. By the time that happened my husband was finished eating and I was no longer hungry.

Ok, so we were looking forward to dessert. Our favorite, chocolate mousse! Well...my husband said it tasted like play dough. It was pasty and hard. We couldn't eat it! So disappointed!! My decaf coffee tasted like instant Sanka. Gross.

I have to say that we sat outside and the decor and atmosphere was lovely. The musician was good too. He sang a lot of our favorite songs.

The grounds and landscaping are lush and beautiful. Very well kept. The pool was nice. Small but adequate.

We had a good rest and enjoyed our time together despite the minor disappointments. Would we return? Not to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from another wonderful stay at the Blockade Runner. I consider myself to be pretty fussy when it comes to choosing a hotel and even though this is an older hotel it is very well maintained! The rooms are updated, the grounds and beach area are beautiful, and the food is very good. Some previous reviews complain about price, but I would challenge them to find a place right on the beach that offers a FREE buffet breakfast with plenty to choose from along with a great staff that provide excellent service!! I for one will return and look forward to doing so in the future! Keep up the great work!!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for a better view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blockade Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your Blockade Runner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blockade Runner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.