We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blockade Runner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blockade Runner to your Saves list
Blockade Runner
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

When we drove up to the Blockade runner we were a little concerned because the exterior of the hotel on the street side is not that impressive, however, we were pleasantly surprised once we entered the lobby. The hotel is very nice and we were very impressed with the landscaping. The pool is a bit small but the hotel sits right on the ocean. One negative is that you have to pay for chairs and umbrellas on the beach. ($10 per chair and $15 for an umbrella). In addition, NC does not allow alcohol on the beach but if you are not obvious about it and don’t look like you are partying, the police tend to leave you alone. Our room was nice, we had the ocean view and the chairs placed directly in front of a floor to ceiling opening window meant that we did not miss having a balcony at all. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant and both were very good. The crabcakes and lobster were both delicious! Overall we had a great stay and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ocean view and third floor or above is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    245
    83
    44
    26
See reviews for
252
254
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. The views are spectacular the hotel is clean and the staff is super friendly. I also thoroughly enjoyed the full hot breakfast buffet in the beautiful restaurant every morning. They have a great pool, fitness room and pool side bar. The only downside is the rooms are not updated. However, I would still highly recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our first visit to Wrightsville beach and Wilmington. Superb location on a beautiful part of the beach. Lifeguards are present. The hotel and grounds were nicely appointed. Large lawn overlooking the beach where you can take yoga lessons or the kids can play games.

Great complimentary brunch each morning. Staff were gracious and attentive.

Room decor was ok. All rooms have been renovated with newer bathrooms and TVs. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

In what could have been a very disappointing first impression of this resort, was well played by the manager Whitney. She rose to her esteemed title of manager by taking complaints I had upon my arrival (as well as other guestts having the same complaint) and making sure they were all addressed immediately and not just for me but for each and everyone of the guests. Whitney needs to be applauded for her immediate jump into action, never loosing her cool and her dedication and loyalty to this resort!!! I will absolutely be back and recommend this resort to other fellow travelers. The location is ideal!!

Donna Costa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the great pacific northwest
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit wary when we drove up to the hotel. The building looks like a huge concrete block with windows. Just from the looks of the outside we imagined what the inside look like. But the lobby was fine. The bellman was very friendly and helpful. Front desk clerk was accommodating, and found a handicap accessible room on the third floor. And our room with the view of the intercoastle water is huge. There is a large window that fills one end of the room and it opens up to give you an indoor patio. Be sure to have a drink and sit in comfortable chairs to watch the sunset.
Room service was quick and the cook accommodated my request to have my seafood dinner grilled instead of fried. The food was very good. Dinner meals come in petite and grande sizes, and petite was plenty of food.
Would I stay here again? Maybe. But I can't imagine ever coming back to this crowded beach.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

So, we had a corp sales team meeting with 13 people and found 'The Cottage' which has 13 guest rooms and is next door to and owned by the folks who own/manage The Blockade Runner hotel. Common area was very comfortable and spacious. The dining room seats at least 20 and the kitchen was well stocked with everything one would need for meal prep. And with the hotel right next door, we had all the amenities of the delightful East Seafood restaurant, the most gracious and accommodating staff you'll ever meet, and of course the pool and direct beach access. The wrap around porch overlooking the sound and the covered porch on the beach side each had ample seating. The second-floor deck was the perfect 'meeting' spot to watch the moon reflect on the ocean with an adult-beverage as well as the sun-rise with a cup of coffee. Each of the 3 porch/deck had comfortable seating for 15+ people. WLM is only 15-20 minute drive and the hotel offers free shuttle service. When there take advantage of the sunset cruise - it's beautiful, relaxing and fun! Totally recommend this delightful spot for a corporate event.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Please note, this review is for The Cottage at the Blockade Runner. It is a LARGE house owned by the Hotel. My sales team is comprised of 13 people(nine women and four men). We wanted to have a unique team experience for our sales meeting, so we rented The Cottage for the week. First and foremost the Staff at the resort were incredibly accommodating. From check in to servers to the owner and to the meeting planner - every request was answered with a 'Yes, we can do that' and a smile.

The cottage provided an all inclusive opportunity for my team. We cooked meals together in the well equipped kitchen, we played team building games on the HUGE lawn, and the meeting room was in the Cottage. We only ate twice at the Blockade Runner and both meals were excellent, especially the dinner.

Wrightsville Beach is a beautiful town. If you are looking for a unique business meeting or family gathering, check out The Cottage at the Blockade Runner - you will not be disappointed!

We all have many special memories from the week and look forward to coming back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Blockade Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your Blockade Runner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blockade Runner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.