We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blockade Runner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blockade Runner to your Saves list
Blockade Runner
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
banner elk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in December (it rained for 2 days with cold temps and very windy) but we still enjoyed our stay. We had an ocean view room with a balcony with two queen size bed.
The room was very large, nicely decorated and the bathroom was very nice. We were told the room had been renovated but I don't know how long ago. All of the staff was overly friendly and I felt like I was someone. The girl that worked in the breakfeast room was very nice and each morning remembered our names and what we had to drink the day before. I would highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Ocean front with a balconly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    208
    73
    38
    24
See reviews for
210
205
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We came to the Blockade Runner Thanksgiving weekend for the wonderful Holiday Flotilla . The hotel is decorated in a wonderful retro style, but modern at the same time. Our kingsize room beachside in the Annex was large and airy, and with a minimalist but cheerful modern feel. Wonderful well furnished balcony that caught the sun and warmth with a fabulous view of the beach. We could actually see the beach from our bed! The staff was continually friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast was far superior to the usual offerings at chain hotels. One night we enjoyed delicious seafood nachos in the pleasant bar for a quick supper. Its great to be able to watch the flotilla from the hotels property backside on the waterway. We were right next to the judges stand, so the boats came up close. The fireworks show afterwards surprised us by being absolutely beautiful and extended. A visit to the Battleship, walks on the north side of the island and dinner in the lovely little downtown added up to a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Our wonderful room was 4th floor, Beachside in the Annex with a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deer park,ny
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in June 2012. The hotel has a great location on the beach in Wrightsville Beach. We had an ocean front room. If it had a balcony it would have been perfect.
Drinks a little pricey, I thought I was in NYC! Nice pool and pool bar.
One night they had a "Luau" for the guests. There was advertising all over the hotel for this event. My husband and I attended and we then received a bill for our meal. There was no mention of the charge on any of the advertising. If I had know, I would have ate much more than I did. The food was just ok and definitely not worth the $40 a person they charged.
Other than that, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean front of course! but even not, you always get a waterview from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My stay at the Blockade Runner was wonderful. My great experience started from the moment I arrived at the airport, from where I was collected by a friendly, chatty and polite shuttle driver. On the journey he talked enthusiastically about Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach, and gave me great tips for things to do. My room was really big, with two very comfortable beds and a beautiful view of the intra-coastal waterway. The bathroom was very well equipped. Overall, the room felt very homely. On my first night at the hotel I ate dinner in the busy restaurant. The meal was incredible value and was honestly one of the best I've eaten. Seriously amazing food. Breakfast each morning was plentiful and delicious. The best thing about the hotel, though, is the staff. Everyone was so friendly, kind and helpful. On my last night I asked at the front desk if they knew whether there would be any cafes/restaurants open at the airport early the next morning. They said they didn't, but they'd "have a brainstorm". Half an hour later, room service shows up with a plate of crackers, a croissant, fresh fruit and butter. What amazing service. They didn't even charge for the room service delivery. On the way the shuttle driver asked if he'd like him to stop en route so I could pick up breakfast, but I let him know his colleagues had arranged one. Overall, this was a great stay and I'd love to return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the intra-coastal waterway are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were very pleased with the front desk staff , they were very informative and offered a free shutttle service . Plus, the room was spotless . We used the jacuzzi...very relaxing. Wish it was warm out to use the pool! The free breakfast buffet was delicious !!!!

Room Tip: We had a harbor view room...lovely looking out over the water ! Very quiet ...nice glass doors to le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We live in Wilmington and have 2 little ones so getting away can be hard. Booked a night at blockade runner and so glad we did. We felt hundreds of miles from home instead of only 5! Have been to the hotel for dining and events but never overnight. We were upgraded to a balcony oceanfront room upon arrival. Happened to be a warm day so got in some some time at the pool and just enjoyed the scenery. Staff was great, bed was comfy, balcony was a great upgrade and even included a full complimentary breakfast! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Blockade previously, and would definitely stay again, if we are in the area. This time we were on the oceanside, with a balcony, and its was BEAUTIFUL. The first time, we were on the marina side, and thought that was nice, but nothing beats a balcony room, overlooking the beauty of the ocean and the crashing of the waves. HEAVEN on earth. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean, with the exception of NO microwave and NO room safe. Those are 2 amenities I think all rooms should have, but we did survive without them. Front desk staff was welcoming and VERY helpful. Usually don't do dinners in hotels, but dinner at the Blockade was DELICIOUS. Had already recommended to a friend who resides in Wilmington. Breakfast was good, but they ran out of alot of things by 8:30. :( Get there early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blockade Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your Blockade Runner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blockade Runner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.