We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blockade Runner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blockade Runner to your Saves list
Blockade Runner
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Repeat travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Blockade previously, and would definitely stay again, if we are in the area. This time we were on the oceanside, with a balcony, and its was BEAUTIFUL. The first time, we were on the marina side, and thought that was nice, but nothing beats a balcony room, overlooking the beauty of the ocean and the crashing of the waves. HEAVEN on earth. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean, with the exception of NO microwave and NO room safe. Those are 2 amenities I think all rooms should have, but we did survive without them. Front desk staff was welcoming and VERY helpful. Usually don't do dinners in hotels, but dinner at the Blockade was DELICIOUS. Had already recommended to a friend who resides in Wilmington. Breakfast was good, but they ran out of alot of things by 8:30. :( Get there early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    207
    73
    38
    25
See reviews for
210
204
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I found the room and accommodations to be "common" and not worth $180 per night. There are not many nice options at Wrightsville Beach, but I'd stongly consider the Holiday Inn or just staying at a B&B downtown next time. I've lived in Wilmington for 25 years and always heard good things, but it just did not meet my expectations for this rate, in November (off season). It certainly was clean, the shower was nice, but the bed was just "ok", the furnishings were quite common, and the lighting was poor. The view of the beach was nice but I can get that for free by standing on the beach! The service at breakfast was poor and I found the staff (mostly appeared to be young and untrained) to be inexperienced and somewhat rude, but not on purpose...just because they didn't know better. The front desk staff was awesome, I have to say that the 2 ladies at the front were very helpful and nice. The grounds appeared to be very nice as well as the pool area, which we did not visit due to time of the year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We experienced a wonderful weekend at the Blockade Runner, and were really impressed with the location, amenities, room, and view. We chose a King Balcony room, and the large balcony and extra space was worth it. This property is a conversion of an older hotel, but it is tastefully done. The Blockade Runner's transitional/contemporary design is a fresh idea in a costal area that is full of outdated hotels. It was nice to see a Keurig coffee station in the room, a mini fridge, a nice rain shower head, and a nice big screen TV. The staff was friendly, the bartender was fantastic (showing us photos from his trip to Africa when he found out we honeymooned in Victoria Falls), and the chef even came out to the bar and asked us to taste test his homemade "beet marshmellows" (yum!) The hotel was busy for off season with a wedding, but there was no noise at night, and we slept with the sliding glass door cracked listening to the waves of the ocean. Completely relaxing!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lovely atmosphere throughout. Impeccably maintained room and lobby and grounds. Excellent linens - and I'm very picky! Balcony view of the beach to die for - a photographer's heaven. Cheerful, attentive, helpful staff. Great food! (Try the awesome vegan burger - and I'm not even vegetarian.) Nice variety of fresh and freshly-cooked dishes in the breakfast buffet. The hot tub is a handy way to wind down at the end of the day - it's older but well-maintained. I like to try someplace new every time I have some money to travel on, but I'm already considering coming back some day. Thanks for a lovely few days!

Room Tip: An oceanfront balcony room is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We LOVE the Blockade Runner! The oceanfront rooms are so close to the beach, it's great to sit back in your room, open the sliding glass door, and just enjoy the view and sounds. The breakfast buffet is unlike any other. Our room (November, 2012) was around $100, and included breakfast, which I would value at least $40.00. WHAT A DEAL! The rooms have nice linens, a flat screen TV, and spa-like bathrooms to include bath & body works toiletries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had so much fun staying at the Blockade Runner. As children of the 50s and 60s in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, we were transported back into that era. The beach was right outside our window and while we were there a wedding was taking place on the grounds. It was fun watching the staff scurrying around. We had a great experience with the staff. Including a ride in a Town Car to the grocery store.

Room Tip: 2nd floor in the right building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yarmouth, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just spent three days in a beautiful ocean front room. Very comfortable in every way. Clean, bright, all in working order.
Breakfasts included in the price, were superb. Lots of choice, everything delicious. All (very young) employees friendly and helpful at all times.
We would go back happily.

Room Tip: ocean front definitely the right side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blockade Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your Blockade Runner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blockade Runner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.