We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite spot to be oceanside!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blockade Runner

Save Saved
You added Blockade Runner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blockade Runner
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“My new favourite spot to be oceanside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lovely atmosphere throughout. Impeccably maintained room and lobby and grounds. Excellent linens - and I'm very picky! Balcony view of the beach to die for - a photographer's heaven. Cheerful, attentive, helpful staff. Great food! (Try the awesome vegan burger - and I'm not even vegetarian.) Nice variety of fresh and freshly-cooked dishes in the breakfast buffet. The hot tub is a handy way to wind down at the end of the day - it's older but well-maintained. I like to try someplace new every time I have some money to travel on, but I'm already considering coming back some day. Thanks for a lovely few days!

Room Tip: An oceanfront balcony room is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    200
    71
    37
    25
See reviews for
206
196
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We LOVE the Blockade Runner! The oceanfront rooms are so close to the beach, it's great to sit back in your room, open the sliding glass door, and just enjoy the view and sounds. The breakfast buffet is unlike any other. Our room (November, 2012) was around $100, and included breakfast, which I would value at least $40.00. WHAT A DEAL! The rooms have nice linens, a flat screen TV, and spa-like bathrooms to include bath & body works toiletries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had so much fun staying at the Blockade Runner. As children of the 50s and 60s in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, we were transported back into that era. The beach was right outside our window and while we were there a wedding was taking place on the grounds. It was fun watching the staff scurrying around. We had a great experience with the staff. Including a ride in a Town Car to the grocery store.

Room Tip: 2nd floor in the right building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yarmouth, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just spent three days in a beautiful ocean front room. Very comfortable in every way. Clean, bright, all in working order.
Breakfasts included in the price, were superb. Lots of choice, everything delicious. All (very young) employees friendly and helpful at all times.
We would go back happily.

Room Tip: ocean front definitely the right side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were visiting family in Castle Hayne and just happened upon this hotel and were glad that we did. Clearly updated the lobby was very inviting! The desk clerk, Christine could not have been nicer in reviewing the available rooms to meet our needs. We arrived late in the afternoon and watched a beautiful sunset from our 7th floor room. I really enjoyed being on the channel with all the sailboats. Being from Virginia Beach the oceanfront view was not quite as important as it might be to others. He we been on that side of the hotel I am sure it would have been equally as beautiful. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms nicely stocked. I see they have taken the recommendation of a previous review and added shower gel! The only unusual thing was there are no ice machines. You must call and ask for ice but the delivered it immediately!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice looking place, right on the beach. Our ocean-front view was spectacular. The service was friendly. I usually give good reviews . . . So what sours me on this place? The details. Why do they not give hair conditioner? (Shower gel instead of skin-drying soap would be nice, too). The bed was hard. The pillows are awful. I wish I brought my own. Pillows at a Holiday Inn are better. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, but why isn't there anything else but whole milk? The buffet is great for greedy overweight Americans, but paltry for those who enjoy healthy food. Skim milk and some decent quality yogurt would go far. Also, tea other than Lipton. It's not so hard or expensive to buy a package of Twinings. The prices at the hotel restaurant are extremely overpriced, but I guess one should expect that at a hotel. Really, this is a nice place, but the details bring it down. I would love or a manager to read this and just arrange to leave guests with hair conditioner and skim milk. That's not too much to ask, is it?

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We nearly did not stop to take a look from the road. However the sign was updated and said Boutique so I thought we should check it out. Well I am glad we did. It has been updated and has a cool little lobby. The courtyard has a nice pool and pool bar that also serves food. The room was beautiful. We stayed in a room that was updated in 2011 on the 6th floor. Amazing views and very roomy. The bathroom was small but tastefully updated with a rain shower. The coffeemaker in the room is kuerig and they do give you several pods. To our surprise the room rate, which was remarkable, included a breakfast buffet. It was very good - we had scrambled eggs with fresh spinach and tomatoes, vanilla french toast, great potatoes, very nice fresh fruit and delicious coffee. The beach was beautiful as were the grounds. The whole stay was a great surprise and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms on the 6 or 7 floor. There are more expensive balcony rooms in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blockade Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Blockade Runner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blockade Runner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.