We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach town staple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 22 North Restaurant

22 North Restaurant
22 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2803
+1 910-509-0177
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
22 North Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Birmingham
Description: Located on historic Wrightsville Beach, 22 North has earned a reputation by visitors and locals alike as "the best kept secret on the beach." Embodying the best of traditional Lower Cape Fear cuisine with classic French and rustic Creole fare, we take pride in providing our guests with the most unique and eclectic Southern comfort food in the Wilmington area. Taking full advantage of the naturally abundant resources Cape Fear is blessed with, our menu changes virtually every day. You're sure to find local favorites along with bold, exciting, and fresh new creations! House specialties like our award-winning silky She-Crab soup, grilled Skirt Steak or our famous Shrimp n'Grits are featured along with more innovative fare such as Sweet Potato Crusted Grouper, Buttermilk fried Alligator and country ham Blue Crab Cakes. And of course our wonderful homemade desserts such as Key Lime Pie and Caramel Bread Pudding are pure delight. We invite you to come on in and make yourself at home!
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beach town staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a great choice for dining at Wrightsville Beach. It is one of the few restaurants that is a block from the beach and is excellent quality.

The main menu is updated every day, uniquely on a chalk board that is posted outside. When you sit down, rather than handing out a menu, the server brings a giant chalk board on an eisle to your table. Very different!

They also have a bar menu, filled with your standard fried foods. The fried pickels are excellent as well as the barbecue popcorn shrimp.

In my opinion the best part about 22 North are the drink specials, every day there is a great deal going on. Can't beat the $2.00 well drinks on Tuesdays, they actually make them strong here! There is plenty of room for a big crowd on the weekends and this is the better bar choice for a late night in Wrightsviile Beach compared to the dive Lager Heads. Now if only they could get up with the rest of the country and go non smoking.........

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    49
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yummy Shrimp and Grits!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Place was ok...a little dark and in need of some renovating....however the hostess and server were great! Even let us try the fried catfish on the house and it was delicious! scallops, buffalo shrimp, blackened tuna, and were all very good!!! The shrimp and grits were amazing!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Grits!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Loved my entree..shrimp and grits!! delish! Hubby enjoyed his blackened tuna..and my daughter loved her Buffalo Shrimps!! the PNut butter cake was yummy as well....as was the key lime pie. server was nice...hostess was great!! place was dated....could use some updating! Parking lot available!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great food in easy-going atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a really nice meal for 4 of us - 2 kids, 2 adults - waitstaff was polite and attentive. Food was outstanding! Fresh fish, fresh shimp - great menu that utilizes fresh, local ingredients. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Seafood with a Flair in a Traditional Beach Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife & I went down to Wrightsville Beach a day earlier than the rest of our family so we decided to eat out somewhere special on Wrightsville that we could bike or walk to. We were staying close to the "downtown" area of Wrightsville so I checked out the reviews for restaurants in that area. I liked what I read about 22 North and it was within walking distance to our condo so we decided to give it a try. Wow, did we make a great decision! We started out with the shrimp martini with a mango jalapeno sauce for dipping. Out of this world! Then my wife had an excellent order of the seared scallops with a corn and red & yellow bell pepper cream sauce. I had the blackened cobia. Both seafood entrees were excellent and very flavorful. For desert we split a piece of their famous key lime pie. Another great decision on our part! Fabulous meal! I can't say enough good things about the food at 22 North. We really enjoyed our meal and can't wait to go back again. I do need to address one thing, other reviewers have commented on the interior and exterior of the restaurant as being shabby. What are they comparing it to? Sure, the exterior doesn't look like a trendy restaurant in Buckhead or Uptown Charlotte, but it does look like a beach place and the ambiance is pure coastal Carolina. When I go to the beach I want to go out somewhere I can wear shorts and topsiders. 22 North fits the bill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 22 North Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 22 North Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 22 North Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.