We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trolly Stop

Trolly Stop
94 South Lumina Avenue, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
+1 910-256-3421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great place for hot dogs! Line was out the door! One of the best hot dog spots I've visited! Service was fast and food was very good and affordable!! Try the burger dog!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nc
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Been loving this place a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Trolley Stop is the place for dogs on the beach. Expect a wait and don't be a jerk - the sign says to keep the door closed to keep the air conditioning in so do it. The guy behind the counter had to keep telling people to shut the door. But don't let the wait put you off; just stand in line, look at all the pictures of people's dogs and be patient, it's worth it. Lots of dogs to choose from, nice cold drinks, chips, and I've been eating here since the early 80s and it's always good every time I go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I don't get the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We walked to the Trolley Stop for lunch from our hotel. I found on the website that some of the Trolley Stops also serve burgers and sandwiches- I was disappointed to find that they only do hotdogs. We walked into a tiny little place with no seating, little airconditioning and a loooooong slow moving line. We decided to weight it out because if this many people were here it must be good, right? Wrong. Clearly this is a popular place, probably some kind if tradition, but they are just hot dogs, people! The flimsy boiled dog in a flimsy cheap bun. Add some toppings and charge $2.75 each. VERY average. Just don't make the mistake of going during lunchtime rush hour, like we did. Definitely Not worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedartown, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great break if you are in the beach.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The food is nothing to write home about but this is a real tourist attraction. If you are just visiting you need to check it out. Parking is a nightmare so walk of you are close enough. Also stay away from there cheese. It is similar to the cheese they put on nachos. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hot dogs r good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Quick eat on the beach - only serve hot dogs/chips. Fun little place - has been here for years. Only open for lunch. You order and take your dog outside to eat. Carolina dog is my fave. They also have a veggie dog too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trolly Stop also viewed

 

Been to Trolly Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trolly Stop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.