We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Dinner with a great ocean view and the crashing surf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanic Restaurant and Grill

Oceanic Restaurant and Grill
703 S Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2166
910-256-5551
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Dinner with a great ocean view and the crashing surf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place came recommended by a guy sweeping the beach with a metal detector. I should go back and thank him! Great fish (I had the flounder), awesome hush puppies. Outside dining with a view of the ocean and the sound of crashing surf and sensuous
Ocean breezes. What a delight. The food was also reasonably priced. A great fund!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    198
    94
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lunch on the pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We arrived and parking attendant advised us where to park - no fee if dining. A young woman opened the door for us and greeted us as we approached. Hostess asked us how many and in/outdoor seating. We asked for outside and were quickly taken to an outside table with an umbrella overlooking the water and new pier. Our waiter (Cam) was very nice, but could have received a bit more knowledge about the specials and the beers. They provide hushpuppies when you sit down - have to say they have the best ones out of all the places we ate at all week! She-Crab soup was very tasty and the Oyster Rockefellers were amazing!!! We then ordered the Chicken Salad, Crab Melt, Fish Tacos....everything was VERY good! May just have to attempt that crab melt at home soon! Disappointed that our appetizer plates were never removed from our table. The waiter who brought our entrees had an opportunity to take them, then our server came 2x to check on us and never removed them. The manager finally took them. Great view of the ocean and the birds/seagulls stay away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location and Awesome View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had dinner at Oceanic Restaurant. The waitstaff was so friendly and attentive. We had the seafood gumbo which was good and had the Flounder and Shrimp seafood platter. The flounder was delicious and the shrimp was light and fresh. The hush puppies were good as well. Great view if you choose to sit outside or in the bar area.n

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a large group, 9 people, and they were able to accommodate us on fairly short order, out on their pier, with fantastic views of the Atlantic, and the surfers bobbing in the water on either side of the pier.

We started off with some calamari, which was crispy and tender, but there probably could have been a little more on the plate. I had the Santa Fe swordfish special, which was breaded and lightly fried with some spicy seasoning, along with a jalapeño sauce to kick it up a notch. Others had the crab cakes, which they loved, and the vegetarian pasta, which they also liked.

All in all, good food with family and friends, great views and decent prices.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View & Average Seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We met friends for lunch at the Oceanic Grill on Wrightsville Beach. The view from the second story dining room did not disappoint. I had a fried seafood platter that was entirely average. I was sitting next to the ocean and anticipated better. My husband had a crab cake which was delicious, but no better than the ones we bought for $6 each at the Wrightsville Beach Farmer's Market and prepared ourselves.

The interior was a bit dated. Service was wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanic Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Oceanic Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanic Restaurant and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.