We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Oceanfront Dining

East Oceanfront Dining
Blockade Runner Beach Resort, 275 Waynick Blvd., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
910-256-2251
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Waynick Blvd
Transit: Private shuttle available to patrons visiting from the Wrightsville Beach local area. Please call the resort directly to arrange pick-up and drop off.
Description: Local. Oceanfront. Freshly Produced Every Evening.Custom Cuisine. Gluten-free. Vegetarian/Vegan. Raw. Just ask for the chef!Award-winning Executive Chef Mark Lawson takes pride in his tableside relationship with restaurant guests. Pair this with oceanfront indoor and outdoor seating and views of lush lawn skirting the surf. On-property herbs and greens, Mott’s Channel Seafood, Feast Down East’s Farmers’ Market produce, Organic Ashley Farms Chicken, Certified Angus Beef and Live Maine Lobster—this is our definition of dining out. Follow us on Facebook for up-to-the-minute updates on Thrifty Thursday, Friday Night Lobster, Saturday Prix Fixe, Sunday Brunch and new raw food specials inspired by Sarma Melngailis–owner of Pure Food & Wine, NYC–the first & foremost in Raw Food.Complimentary island limo shuttle available.
NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I were told about this place by locals. We stopped on a slow night but still had a wonderful meal. Everything is named after a song title. We had the "Sitting on the dock of the bay" scallops appetizer with bacon. For dinner we had the "Mrs Robinson" panko breaded tuna and the "Stand by Me" filet. Most importantly, everything had a wonderful flavor including the side dishes. Our waiter Aaron was attentive and just the right amount of social. The restaurant has attractive indoor and outdoor seating. We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dining at East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Truly a wonderful experience. Our party went on a cold winter Sunday night. We were surprised by how fresh the food was served. The breads were were hot and seemed fresh. The salads were crisp, but not overly cold. Several people in our party ordered the crab cakes, and remarked that they were the best they had ever eaten. The pricing was good, with a full range. Petite portions are offered and are just they right size to leave with your hunger satiated. The atmosphere was great, and the staff was attentive and helpful. Definitely going back for more of this one.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed in the hotel and had the free buffet and was shocked by the food compared to normal free breakfasts. Also went for dinner one night, make sure to check at the check in desk because they have coupons there. Only downside was the service at night was a little slow but the food was worth the wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It's hard to decide on just one entree - they're all enticing! Although the menu is not extensive there is a dish for everyone - seafood lovers, meatatarians and vegetarians can all be happy here. Everything was prepared with expertise and came out perfectly. The sides are perfectly paired to their main course. They have a great wine selection both by the glass and bottle. Do yourself a favor and end with desert. The key lime pie met with my mother's approval and she's a connoisseur of key lime pie. For me, creme brulee is the perfect ending to a wonderful meal. And if you choose outdoor seating you can enjoy the sound of the waves crashing onto Wrightsville Beach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Truly fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our Monday night dinner at East was excellent. Attentive servers, perfectly-prepared food, creative pairings of garnishes, sauces, and sides. Portion sizes were just right and I did not leave feeling stuffed but quite satisfied. Nice warm breads. Good wine selection. We will go back again. My only slight disappointment was the lobster bisque which lacked lobster flavor. It was good, but tasted more like a very good cream of mushroom. That did not spoil the meal which was very, very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Oceanfront Dining also viewed

 

Been to East Oceanfront Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Oceanfront Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.