We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good menu choices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East Oceanfront Dining

East Oceanfront Dining
Blockade Runner Beach Resort, 275 Waynick Blvd., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
910-256-2251
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Waynick Blvd
Transit: Private shuttle available to patrons visiting from the Wrightsville Beach local area. Please call the resort directly to arrange pick-up and drop off.
Description: Local. Oceanfront. Freshly Produced Every Evening.Custom Cuisine. Gluten-free. Vegetarian/Vegan. Raw. Just ask for the chef!Award-winning Executive Chef Mark Lawson takes pride in his tableside relationship with restaurant guests. Pair this with oceanfront indoor and outdoor seating and views of lush lawn skirting the surf. On-property herbs and greens, Mott’s Channel Seafood, Feast Down East’s Farmers’ Market produce, Organic Ashley Farms Chicken, Certified Angus Beef and Live Maine Lobster—this is our definition of dining out. Follow us on Facebook for up-to-the-minute updates on Thrifty Thursday, Friday Night Lobster, Saturday Prix Fixe, Sunday Brunch and new raw food specials inspired by Sarma Melngailis–owner of Pure Food & Wine, NYC–the first & foremost in Raw Food.Complimentary island limo shuttle available.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good menu choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good choice of fish dishes. Slightly over-prepared but still delicious. Good service.

The bar has a happy hour with free wine, beer and small bites (cod fritters on the day we went).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I had a goat cheesecake with roasted beets, to much cheese and very little roasted beets, and the beets I did have were mushy. Also had a stuffed artichoke that had to be sent back it was not edible at all. However, the trio was very good, crab cake was yummy and steak prepared correctly. Service was wonderful

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not bad but not all good either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The food here was actually very good but other aspects of this place made the visit here not so good. To start, wife and daughter stopped here for a go at the bar. Their tab was $44. Paid by CC and left the tip in cash($10). A few days later noticed on daughters account, which is tied to mine, that bill was $10 more than the receipt. Found out that the bartender apparently took it upon herself to add $10 extra to the bill, NOT cool! Called the manager and she seemed very responsive and after a couple of days the bill was fixed correctly. Not sure what happened to bartender but I'd be willing to bet she's still there. Anyway, our meal was very good, food was prepared perfectly and was tasty. Service however; was terrible. She did NOT want to be there and it showed. Other than that, it was all good and I was charged correctly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot but spotty food and service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The location of this restaurant couldn't be better. An outside dining area surrounded by beautiful lawns, beach views, lovely plantings, etc. The menu reads like a real top notch restaurant, with some very appealing items. A farmstead cheese plate, a vegan main course item, appealingly described surf and turf options, and the "executive chef's" name on the menu.

But there were early signs of distress. They had run out of bread and were baking more. Nonsense.The bread was never baked there. The appetizers came at random times and one guest's lobster bisque was forgotten entirely. I had a bowl of clams and pork belly that lacked finesse. The bisque got no raves. And the wine list was seriously thin.

The main courses were again served at different times creating awkward decisions about starting before everyone was served. When my $25 Vegan plate arrived, I was expecting something a bit creative. But it was an assortment of veggies with very little happening. Portobello mushrooms seemingly boiled in vinegar, some good fingerling potatoes, asparagus that was nicely grilled, but I was insulted by the artichoke hearts straight out of the can. Seriously? That's vegan in North Carolina? Looking around I saw some good and some bad, including a flounder dish that was absolutely not flounder and was seriously undercooked.

The desserts were very good, but who wants to spend another $12 after all that mediocrity. This is a very expensive restaurant by Southern standards, it was peak season, and the place was having a lot of trouble.

It's a lovely setting, with a great menu, and I hope they sort things out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I came to stay in Wrightsville Beach in July and we stayed at the Blockade Runner. We were worried about finding places for dinner since many of the local restaurant reviews mentioned "crowds" and "long waits", neither of which sound remotely appealing to us. We decided to try the hotel restaurant since it didn't seem crowded at all and was so convenient, and we are glad we did. The service was excellent, the atmosphere was spectacular (surrounded by lush plantings, the sound of the waves, and gentle evening breezes). And the food was great, especially the halibut special! It was a little pricey but we felt it was worth it, and we will be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Oceanfront Dining also viewed

 
Wrightsville Beach, NC
Wrightsville Beach, NC
 

Been to East Oceanfront Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Oceanfront Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.