We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day trip to visit my boyrfriend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Gull Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wrightsville Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Gull Motel
Save
You added Silver Gull Motel to your Saves list
20 East Salisbury Street, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
Hotel amenities
Lebanon, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“4 day trip to visit my boyrfriend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at the Silver Gull over Memorial day weekend and it was amazing! This motel was much nicer than I had expected. The room we stayed in was very nice and clean. It had a private balcony with a view of the beach and pier, kitchenette with microwave, fridge and 2 burner stove top. The bathroom was very clean and newly remodeled. We stayed on the second floor so we just had to walk down the hall out the doors and the beach was right there! The bed was pretty comfortable, but we both arent that picky about our mattresses. Parking was free-they have a parking garage and overflow parking at the end of the street.

The staff was great...we were able to check in at 11am instead of 3pm, which was really nice. House keeping was friendly and they would leave fresh towels in a bag on the door if you had the 'do not disturb' sign up.

The motel is walking distance from some great restaurants and bars. We always had a nightly walk on the beach, which was very relaxing!

I do have to say if you don't like a lot of noise you should keep the balcony door shut. Some of the rooms on the pier view side can get noisey with all the people walking to the beach and parking. Plus there is a bar right across the street with some loud people!!!

My overall experience here was fantastic! I am very glad I found this motel and would definately recommend to anyone wanting an affordable place to stay on the beach!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My teen daughter and I spent three nights at the Silver Gull Motel. We had a renovated room on the 3rd floor. I asked for a quiet location and we were positioned on the back side with a balcony view of the ocean. The room had two double beds, a nice kitchenette and fresh bathroom. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We did ask for assistance with a loud party group in the room below us- one phone call was all it took- not a single noise after that! We had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the direct beach access. We would recommend Tower 7 Mexican restaurant and also Mellow Mushroom- go early to each if you don't like to wait.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room- if you are a light sleeper, also ask for a quiet, back location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Four years ago we happene upon this place when planning our girls weekend and its our new annual destination. We make it a point to go back every year. Service and quality have been consistent for four years now. Highly recommend this wonderful friendly place. See ya next year!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just left the beach today and we were greatly impressed by this motel. It's a hidden gem. The room (221) was very clean and spacious. The bathroom and sink area were absolutely beautiful not to mention very accommodating and the beds were very comfortable. We definitely hope to return to this place soon, especially since its within easy walking distance to the local restaurants and shops. I hate to let everyone in on this because it is a smaller hotel but we had a great stay and wanted to share. The only downside would be your neighbors. We had a room full of young men across from us and they were very loud late at night and spilled out into the hallway. Because it's an older building, the sound does carry some but I feel certain that someone would have handled it should we felt the need to say something. The beds are short for guys who are 6'4" or taller but this is rather common anywhere you go and this wasn't a problem for us. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Silver Gull was clean, convenient, and budget-friendly. We had no complaints about our room and could see the ocean from our balcony. It's a great location-- walk out of the hotel and you're already on the beach. It's also possible to walk to restaurants and shops, which isn't true for some of the further hotels at Wrightsville. We had great customer service as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

When I read the other reviews, I was anxious to check the place out. I expected a good location but I thought it would be an old place. Well it was not a Westin, but it was clean, spacious, reasonable, with a nice kitchen area. The staff was very friendly. The location could not be better. The rooms were much better than I thought they would be for an older place. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Silver Gull is located right on Wrightsville Beach, with wonderful views of the ocean from the balconies and from inside the rooms looking out the windows behind the balconies. Excellent customer service from Allen, Ruth and John. They make you feel like you're family. However, only half the hotel has been renovated -- the current owners (children of the original owner) do not seem to care much about upkeep of the hotel or visitor's opinions. The motel staff had a lot more leeway to improve customer satisfaction under previous management and ownership.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Gull Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Gull Motel

Address: 20 East Salisbury Street, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Silver Gull Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Silver Gull Wrightsville Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Gull Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.