We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little museum w/ a wonderful tour guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wrightsville Beach Museum of History

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wrightsville Beach Museum of History
303 W. Salisbury Street, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
910-256-2569
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular tour spot with beautiful views of the Intracoastal Waterway.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A nice little museum w/ a wonderful tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We went in after listed hours, but it was still open. It is small, but very informative. We had our own personal tour guide. I believe she ran and operated the museum full time. There is no cost, but they do accept donations.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful history of this little island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a small, free, museum when you first come onto the island. The ladies were very helpful in explaining this history of this trendy island.Take 15mins out of your day and stop by. It's worth it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have lived here for 10 years and have never been, what a great experience and will be back. The people that work there were great and knew a lot about the local area!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wrightsville Beach History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A quick trip through the history of Wrightsville Beach. An extremely nice lady gave my wife and I a quick tour through their museum and enlightened us with her personal knowledge of the area and the by-gone days of the beach. Very informative and personal.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Local History Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were lucky to have a docent here on our visit, by the name of Josh, who added to our enjoyment of this museum by sharing his incredible knowledge and obvious enjoyment of history of the area. Ask to see one of the videos if you have the time.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrightsville Beach Museum of History also viewed

Wrightsville Beach, NC
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Wrightsville Beach Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrightsville Beach Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.