We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Winterville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Winterville to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Winterville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 South Memorial Drive, Winterville, NC 28590   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winterville
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“It was a good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was working in the Greenville, NC area and chose this hotel for my long stay. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. The room was spacious and had a flat screen. I dont think all of their rooms have flat screens though so you may have to request this. The price seemed ok as well for the length of time that I was going to be there. The breakfast was ok. The standard Comfort Inn type of breakfast. I stayed on the ground floor and dont remember if there was an elevator or not. There is a safe charge of about 1.50 per night but if you dont use the safe you can ask them to remove the fee at check out or let them know at check - in that you dont plan on using the safe. All in all this hotel served my purpose and is an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Winterville, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for taking time to share your experience with others. These posts carry a lot of weight and help others make an educated choice when away from home.

Thanks Again

Sudhir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
4
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Gave this hotel another shot while in town recently on business. Since my last visit, updates have been made to at least some of the rooms. The notable exception in the room I was in was the t.v. It was an old console style, circa 1979. Picture quality was poor. In a room with more contemporary furnishings, this really stuck out. As many properties have updated to a flatscreen style tv, the quality of this unit was very disappointing. Another issue was the heating/air unit which seemed to not be functioning properly when on low heat. Even on the hottest setting, it would only run for a few seconds at a time before switching off and the room was still cool. The noise of this suddenly turning on then off during the night made it rather disturbing for sleep. Breakfast offerings are within normal expectations for this caliber facility. Overall, this isn't a bad property but it still has some room for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Recently stayed here on business. Hotel had quite a bit of renovation occuring during the stay (and it needs it) so construction noise was a bit of an issue until 8/9pm. When I arrived at my room, I discovered the electronic lock was not functioning on the door, meaning anyone could walk into the room without a swipe key. Once inside, you could deadbolt the door to secure but if you left the room, your property inside was unsecure. The next morning, when I reported the problem, the desk clerk removed the $1.50 safe charge as a "courtesy" for the inconvenience. I know the issue was not her fault but $1.50 credit is more of an insult than a courtesy. Room was missing toliet paper dispenser and only had one trashcan for the room--seemingly trivial issues but inconvenient none the less. Hopefully, the property will be improved once renovation is complete but a little tough to recommend at this point. Overall, there are worse places to stay in the Greenville area, I guess. You at least have a decent variety of restaurants in the vicinity and are in a part of town where you don't feel threatened walking outside the building (ie-Quality Inn, Greenville).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winterville hotels

Cornelius, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This place charges too much for what is offered. No elevator to the upper floors, econo lodge quality beds, bad breakfast. The staff is always friendly, but they are stuck with a bad property here. The WiFi is spotty at best.
Also, they stick it to you with a $1.50 safe charge even if you didn't use the safe. They should take that money and put it back into the rooms.
For the price you pay, try another place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Do not stay at this Hotel. It is so old and they OVER charge for less what they have to offer. Where do I begin? No automatic doors , so you struggle with your bags to get through the door.NO elevator so you have to carry everything up the stairs. Our door had no metal plate to secure the lock, just a big hole in the door jam.The room smelled of old linens. There are big stains on the wall next to the bed , that I don't even want to know how they got there. The comforter and blankets were very old looking. NO bathroom fan , so the mirror and everything else gets coated with moisture.NO toilet paper holder. The coffee pot was extremely RUSTED , yes rusted! This place is so nasty and the price is outrageous for what you get in return.
After sleeping in those conditions , I didn't have high hopes for breakfast. I looked at everything they were serving. It didn't look too awful bad, till I saw a bunch of hard boiled eggs sitting on a serving tray immersed in a clear liquid.(probably water, yuk! ) OH and one more thing, I was looking to purchase a bottle of water from one of their vending machines (later in the evening) Not one machine had water . . . . no water???? My advise to the owners would be re-invest in your property. Give a nice comfortable and clean place for your costumers to stay. So people will want to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Not sure what the previous person issue was. I have stayed here on several occasions over the last two years and the property has undergone some nice renovations. The room was clean, had high speed internet, nice breakfast. This Comfort Inn was clean, no frills, quiet so it did the trick. Will be back when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Winterville, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Comfort, Quality and Price, have to be three of the most important things when traveling and THANK YOU for noticing we provide them all. It is so great to hear when a guest is happy and enjoyed the stay. I will share your comments with the team and we hope if you are in the area we will visit us again. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks
Sudhir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

Went to this hotel for a convention. WOW what a mistake!! First, they screwed up the reservation and gave me the wrong room....a king instead of a double...how embarrassing is that when you arrive with a male employee.
Secondly, the room was filthy, dirty carpet, smelly and looked to be something brown and gooey smeared all over the bathroom ceiling...YUK!! Had to deal with someone in the next room with a loud TV or radio until 5 or 6am....what a BAD BAD stay.

Pay the extra bucks and go somewhere nice!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — the brown gooey nasty lookng stuff smeared all over the bathroom ceiling
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Winterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Winterville

Address: 3900 South Memorial Drive, Winterville, NC 28590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Winterville 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn Winterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Winterville Hotel Winterville
Winterville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Winterville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.