We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things are looking up for this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Coliseum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Coliseum to your Saves list
Quality Inn Coliseum
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   531 Akron Drive, Winston Salem, NC 27105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
winston salem
1 review
“Things are looking up for this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is going threw some changes and things are looking better with the cleaning and the look of the hotel. The staff is very nice and try to make you feel like you are at home. I would stay hear again it is worth checking out

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityINN_WS, Manager at Quality Inn Coliseum, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise during your recent visit to the Quality Inn, Winston Salem, NC.

We have been renovating the hotel to better service our guest requests and I Thank you for noticing the change. We listen to everything guest have to say and will do everything we can to accomodate any request you have. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it is only through the eyes of our guest that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Thank You
General Manager
Quality Inn Coliseum
531 Akron Drive
Winston Salem, NC 27105
336-767-8240
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    6
    11
    26
See reviews for
23
8
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had very comfortable, clean rooms, with refrigerator & microwave. Great breakfast, too, with big variety of cereals for the kids! The largest plus is the owner and the staff of this property; absolutely the most attentive and the best service - ever. Hotel is in excellent location, and we will definitely stay here again.
Pat Deitz

Room Tip: Great breakfast, with a very large assortment of cereals for the kids! Rooms include microwaves and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityINN_WS, Manager at Quality Inn Coliseum, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise during your recent visit to the Quality Inn, Winston Salem, NC.

Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding. Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Thank You
General Manager
Quality Inn Coliseum
531 Akron Drive
Winston Salem, NC 27105
336-767-8240
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, MI
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I got this hotel on a HotWire name your own price, non-refundable deal. Two things I blame Hot Wire for 1) pulling a Micky Finn I bid on a hotel they said was available, which with research I figured out and kinda knew which one it was. Then they said "sorry, not available but an equally good one is" I should have said NO THANKS instead of yes. 2) they have this listed as a 2.5 to 3.5 star hotel NOT!!! I only got his hotel for 10 dollars less than the going rate! Quite a rip-off for having a non-refundable, yadda-yadda (all the trouble with those name your own price) So I immediately go to my fabulous most trusted Trip Advisor which I love and am HORRIFIED with the reviews.
Well, it wasn't so bad for the price, the reviews overstated the dumpiness, the breakfast is free so saved me some money not having to go out. Plus, I just happened to be furniture week, so I was lucky to get a room anywhere! BUT NOT 2.5 stars!!! so this misleads people. 1-1.5 at best!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Inn Coliseum, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for at the Quality Inn Coliseum. Please keep in mind when rooms are booked via 3rd party channels the room type and smoking preferences are NOT GUARANTEED. For future stays please book directly with us by calling the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel needs a complete spring cleaning.The corners in the hall and bathrooms need extra attention ..
When we arrived,after 6 nights in similar Choice hotels,we found the most unfriendly staff,on our whole trip.
The beds were clean and very comfortable,which was a saving grace.
The breakfast on a weekday,was very lacking,no eggs,and mostly donuts and sweet pastries,and stale english muffins.Also there were no lids for the coffee cups.so taking a drink to our room,was not an option.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was our second stay at this particular facility and upon arrival we felt somewhat unwelcome , although the first time we stayed there 6 months ago we did not feel the same. We both had an impression we were intruding, not making it a great start for our stay,. When I went to get a cup of coffee there were no cups available, but the clerk quickly offered to get some. He brought some cups back, but no lids. He had to go back to where they were stored to get more. It was then he began to be a bit more friendly and made us feel a bit more welcome. Although the breakfast advertised was to be a "super" breakfast, the first time we were offered eggs and sausage with all the other amenities. This time they offered waffles, but didn't have the equipment set up to make them. The coffee was like lightly flavored water, was not hot, and when I asked for this to be corrected I was immediately told it wasn't going to happen unless the pot was empty. We got a few rolled eyes at the request, again, not making us feel warm and fuzzy. The orange juice was almost totally water, but once the attendant noticed the problem she put in a new supply. I am a diabetic, and would have loved to eat a waffle, but no low sugar syrup was available. No peanut butter and no low sugar jam or jelly was available for toast. This makes it a bit difficult for me to obtain a healthy breakfast.

The beds were ok, but hard. The pillows were good and comfortable. I was a bit disappointed by some of the things I noticed in the room, such as a few spots on the carpet and the baseboard in the bathroom was dirty with an accumulation of dust and such around the floor.

We have had two experiences in this hotel, 6 months apart. We chose to go back to them because the first was pleasurable. After the second, I'm not sure we would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityINN_WS, Manager at Quality Inn Coliseum, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry to hear your stay with us this time was not exceptional like last time and you experienced some problem with the breakfast during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. the reason why we did not have the usual breakfast with fresh scrambled eggs, sausage and gritts is because we were updating the kitchen area and were not able to provide it at this time. Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed and the appropriate action has been taken. I can also assure you during your next stay with us we will be done with the renovations and be able to provide DELUX Breakfast.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

If this was a 1 star hotel I would say it was OK, but labeled as a 2.5 star is a joke. I went for a weekend with the guys, so we ended up roughing it, but if the family was along we would have ran out of there like I saw several other families doing! Upon checking in, we had asked for non smoking and were told there would be a $10 up charge per night per room and in cash. This was a very large hotel with maybe 15 cars in the parking lot, there were plenty of open rooms that were non smoking. Upon getting to our rooms, we noticed the AC unit was extremely loud in both rooms we had. When we inquired the front desk, we were told that was usual. No need to say, not much sleep occurred. The "Deluxe Continental breakfast" was the poorest excuse I have ever seen for a breakfast anything. The only reason this hotel stays in business is Priceline/Hotwire!

Room Tip: The highway is loud along with the AC units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My parents came here to stay the night because I was at the time admitted at The Childrens Home service a while back in fact i don't know what year exactly. so they were from Asheville. The walls were disgusting the floors had stains everywhere....i went out to the pool to swim with them and there was random people sitting and eat on the outside chairs and tables that don't even stay there! it's loud at night and weird things happen...my sister and I complained about someone one grabbing us from behind when we go in the elevator...shadows flash around and the best part is this ...THE TV turns itself on and flicks through channels and turns the volume up so high and down to mute. and best part was the employees didn't care in fact I could guess that
maybe 3 people worked there....and maybe two cleaning ladies....and by the way there was a bullet hole on the 4th floor like the other person described...so for your sanity and sanitary sake...DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!!!

Room Tip: None!!!! My suggestion is to do not go here until things are fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Coliseum

Address: 531 Akron Drive, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Coliseum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Coliseum Hotel Winston Salem
Quality Inn Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Coliseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.