We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but not soundproof” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Winston-Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Winston-Salem to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Winston-Salem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   460 North Cherry Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but not soundproof”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel at least 10 times. All the rooms are suites so they are large, and nice with a large bathroom. Breakfast is always really good with made to order food. I always use the valet and no complaints there, the only complaint I have is if you have an exterior room you can hear everything from the road even if your on one of the upper floors.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    108
    42
    26
    24
See reviews for
110
31
12
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HERTFORD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My advice: Don't go to the hotel bar unless you're willing to pay $17 for a drink! I stayed two nights at the Embassy Suites in Winston-Salem last week, and on the second night my husband and I went to the hotel bar and each had one drink. The bartender charged us $25 for two drinks (one Jim Beam & Pepsi and one Manhattan). The Beam was $8 and the Manhattan was $17. (And no, this wasn't a "double." The bartender said it was because it was made with Jack Daniels.) OK, I've had many Manhattans in many bars...including one in Manhattan NYC...and NEVER have I paid $17 for one drink. After numerous attempts, I finally reached the hotel manager...only be told that $17 is the going price for a Manhattan. Ugh! Needless to say I won't be staying at the Embassy Suites in Winston-Salem again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spent New Years Eve here and took advantage of the holiday package which included a dinner and dance. Embassy Suites has become our first choice whenever we can book and this was no exception. The accommodations are grand and the personnel are the best. This particular event was well planned with great food, a great band and a large and wonderful mix of partygoers. The only surprises are pleasant at Embassy and we always leave with an anticipation of our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed there for one night in January. Great location with restaurants/night life all around. The free breakfast had omelets, egg, bacon, fresh fruit, etc. We had really comfy beds, indoor pool was warm and we enjoyed hot tub.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for one night in January. Valet parking, free wifi, complimentary breakfast, free newspapers. Room was ok. Nothing to complain about. Friendly and efficient staff. Hotel is located in the hearth of Winston-Salem with plenty of restaurants Within walking distance. Will for sure come back for my next visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is in downtown Winston Salem wedged between a parking deck and office building. We pulled up to find the valet parking station empty and cars parked on both sides of the very narrow entrance, and eventually found a parking spot in the dark, dirty parking deck (for which we had to pay an exorbitant fee). The center of the hotel is a large courtyard, from which drunk conventioneers felt the need to yell at 1 am in the morning. With this hotel design, any noise in the courtyard is going to echo throughout the hotel. I felt like I was trapped in someone's Spring Break nightmare.

Rooms were huge and well appointed, so if you are intending to stay in your room the entire time and wear earplugs when sleeping it might be ok.

Room Tip: Don't book a room that faces the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We found a special E.S. chain-wide rate that made it a no -brainer to book here rather than across the street at the Marriott for a family wedding. We locked in three two-br, two bath suites and found the layout to be perfect for our needs. The Living area was big enough for the stack of reception supplies, and yet easy to keep tidy and private from our (admittedly messy!) sleeping areas. Also, having two bathrooms was a real advantage as were the smaller kitchen and dining table. Only thing was, when it it was windy cold out, the heating system showed its age and could not keep the rooms at the temps set on the thermostat. Could have been the windows were leaky. Whatever, it was either too hot in one room and too cold in the others.

Our days started with a solid meal, thanks to the gregarious made- to- order chef and the staff's decent selection of fruits, teas and sides. The melons were tasty, considering it was The end of December, the apples and oranges and bananas were ripe and the omelettes were satisfyingly fresh. However, the other options were sugary, syrupy, fiber-free, artery clogging SAD foods - Standard American Diet: white flour pancakes, deep-fried potato tots, white grits, pastries, and marginal cereals and yogurt, unfortunately artificially sweetened, colored and flavored. The selection dwindled for late-comers and boy, the coffee did not draw raves from anyone, except that it was hot and it was brewed. (Perhaps this was an intentional way to get us to go across the hall to support Starbucks?)

On the up side, that same area became an evening respite withhummus, salsa, chips, veggies, dips as well as cocktails, wine, beer or water for the grownups and beverages for the kids. The night we took advantage, we had the pleasure of an conversation with the bartender, who regaled us with stories of weddings past at the ER, including his own story. Like the morning shift, though, get there early, as the peasures dwindle and when it's closing time, everything is whisked away in less than a minute. eriously. Stop-watched the breakfast take down!

Overall, friendly staff, decent prep of what they have to work with, and a very convenient location. We would stay here again simply because we could see an effort being made on most fronts.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for discount rate good thru end of Jan 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Winston-Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Winston-Salem

Address: 460 North Cherry Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Winston-Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown Winston-Salem, NC in the Twin City Quarter, just off Interstate 40 Business, 20 minutes from Piedmont Triad International Airport. Within walking distance to restaurant row, entertainment, galleries and shops. Over 57,000 square feet of meeting space. Starbucks Coffee Shop located in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Winston-Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Winston Salem
Winston Salem Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Winston-Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.