We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn University

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5719 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 39 hotels in Winston Salem
Granite Falls, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient and Affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ours was a one-night, two-room stay. Hotel grounds were clean and well-kept. Rooms were clean and affordable. My request for ground floor was honored.

When I initially entered my room, the air conditioning unit was performing poorly. Since I have a number of health issues, I returned to the front desk, requested another room, and the clerk graciously assigned me another room.

The free high-speed wireless internet access was slow but manageable.

The outdoor pool was a disappointment. Had a milky appearance and contained some ground debris. I don't think this was due to neglect on the hotel's part. Numerous storms had occurred on a daily basis prior to our arrival.

The free continental breakfast buffet was plentiful.

Front desk clerk was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_University, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Kiran Bhavsar
General Manager
Quality Inn University Parkway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    5
    7
    12
See reviews for
22
6
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I have never had such terrible service in my life when we first walked in there were cockroaches running in the hallway, there were burn holes in the sheets, there was something very disgusting on the blanket and sheets. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone this place is the most gross place I have ever been too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here because we were visiting family. The hotel rooms look like they were updated sometime recently. Nice beds, flat screen HDTV, marble in the bathrooms. Pretty nice room overall and beds were pretty comfortable. It was also clean. Good WiFi signal and pretty fast download speeds. The free breakfast was very good. Our only complaint was the pool which was green and cloudy but overall can't beat the price and it was a very good value. Staff was also very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_University, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kiran Bhavsar
General Manager
Quality Inn University Parkway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Back again for my annual stay at Quality Inn. Room accomodations satisfactory, but really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet which was well-stocked with variety choices. On this trip, we met Daisy the pot-bellied pig. What a hoot. There is a lot to do in the area if you are staying for a couple days and want to get out of the motel - movie theaters, restaurants, shopping all within a short driving distance. Staff very nice, and of course the price is right.

Room Tip: I always manage to get a nice room. I usually am in the back section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed for a family event booking 2 rooms. The staff was very accommodating especially the manager and made us feel like family. We asked to use the breakfast area for evening "family time" and our lunch before heading up to Pilot Mountain a short distance away. Although 4 of us from out of town stayed at the hotel we had 17 in our group as most of the family was local. The staff members made us feel at home while we visited. The lobby area couches are comfortable and the big flat screen TV was easy to see. The rooms were squeaky clean and beds comfortable. The location was quiet even thought it was booked to capacity. There are many meal options close by. We will definitely seek out this hotel the next time we're in town!

Room Tip: We stayed in the middle building. There are stairs to the 2nd floor rooms. All rooms are outside ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Easy to find off the highway. Check in was a breeze. There are 2 buildings and our room was in the second one. There was NO parking right in front of our room so we had to park a little ways away. Not too bad. The room was fairly large- big enough for a king, 2 desks, a chair and dresser- and still room to walk around. The bathroom was clean and no mildew on the ceilings in the shower. The sink is outside the shower area, which is nice. Pretty big flat screen TV with good reception. The room was super clean too.

We stayed on a Saturday night for the race in Martinsville and are just checking out today. Went down to the lobby for the free breakfast at 8:45... not a whole lot to choose from. Typical- waffles, apples, oatmeal, etc. no bacon or eggs. Also, make sure you get there before 9 because if not, no breakfast for you. Ending breakfast at 9 am on a Sunday?! Really? Good thing there's a Bojangles and they have great breakfast.

Also, the hotel has a "business center" in the lobby, but the Internet is super super slow and the printer doesn't work. I told the guy at the desk that I needed ton print something and he said he was going to call someone to get it working. I didn't have time for all that so we went to the Holiday Inn across the street. Their printer wasn't working either in the business center, but they let me use the computer in their office!!! Now THAT'S customer service. I think that's where I'll stay next time, even if it is a bit pricier.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am currently staying at this location. I swithced hotels three days ago. I ws at the Holiday Inn and what I paid there for 3 nights is a weekly rate here. I am in the process of moving and I don't like driving back and forth everyday so since my job is in this area, I decided to stay. But I was really shocked at the price difference for the same standard room. Breakfast is complimentary here, not there. My room here is clean and comfortable. Alot of the times I think people pay for the name and not the quality.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_University, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Kiran Bhavsar
General Manager
Quality Inn University Parkway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn University

Address: 5719 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn University 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.