We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookstown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brookstown Inn to your Saves list
Brookstown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Brookstown Avenue, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently stayed for the first time at the Brookstown Inn and was pleasantly surprised by the uniqueness of the building and the friendliness of the staff. All of the rooms seem to be different and I was lucky enough to stay in the Lawson Suite. It was huge and the bed was fantastic. It was raining during my stay and I loved hearing the drops right above my ceiling. The common areas felt like home with comfy couches and Big Bang playing on the TV; they even have a cat lounging on the ottoman. The food was excellent and the staff was very accommodating. Overall this was a wonderful stay and I am looking forward to my next visit to Winston-Salem.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    50
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
66
66
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at the Brookstown Inn for 4 nights, and wished I could stay longer! The room was so spacious that the lack of an exercise room at the hotel was no issue. I could not only exercise in my room, but there was also a beautiful walking path just a couple blocks away that takes you right to Old Salem. The decor was fitting with the historic cotton mill & the bedding felt luxurious. I slept so well, & unlike some typical hotels, the environment was quiet & relaxing. I didn't get a chance to enjoy the free glass of wine or the cookies & milk offered in the lounge area, but I did enjoy simple, delicious breakfasts with coffee in the lovely dining area. The staff were also friendly & talkative, especially the bellhop! I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Winston-Salem. Although I went for work, it felt like a real vacation otherwise.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Historic Brookstown Inn for our wedding anniversary and had to leave because the room was freezing cold. We complained to the front desk at least 3 times. They said other guests were complaining too and they were working with maintenance to solve the issue. On the third time they brought us a tiny space heater that barely worked. We finally decided to leave. They said we would have to return the next day to get our refund from the manager. We returned the next day and the manager, Allison, although she returned our money, refused to do anything else such as a complimentary night's stay to compensate for our ruined anniversary. I would not
recommend this hotel to anyone because they did not stand behind their business and assure the customers satisfaction. We walked away very dissapointed.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
annrgriffin,

Congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary and we want to thank you for choosing to spend it with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. It is unfortunate, however, that you did not find your recent stay to your satisfaction, as we know a great majority of our guests are accustomed to a wonderfully memorable experience time and time again.

We take pride in our Historic name and due to the historic nature of the property there are quirks that we take measures in assuring that our guests are comfortable no matter what. Due to the boiler system for the entire property our staff is well equipped to handle guest requests for heating/cooling issues, when they arise, which you’ve stated they did exactly that. A great majority of the time those measures the staff take in assuring our guests comfort resolve the issue at hand. We are regretful that you could not find the adjustments accommodating and had to depart early. Our policy for such issues is a complete refund of stay, which you’ve also stated our staff did graciously provide to you. We do assure our guests utmost satisfaction in our day to day business; it is our number one goal in making sure that when our guests depart they have wonderful memories to take with them. We are sorry to hear that you did not personally have the memorable experience that so many of our guests experience on a day to day basis.

Again, we are sorry that you’ve expressed in your opinion the stay was not satisfactory. Should you choose to take a retreat in Winston Salem again we would like to welcome you back and stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn, should you choose.

Until then, best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We love Sally! Breakfast good, room was huge! Convenient location for Old Salem. Free parking and wifi, with breakfast included! Room 309 is huge and we will specifically request it again! Loved the complimentary wine and cheese also!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
onenic,

it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We are thankful to have wonderful guests who take time to share with others about their stay. We certainly cannot wait to welcome you again soon.

Until then, best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The "Gathering Of Poets," is a day-long series of workshops for poets. I arrived on Friday night and left on Sunday. The staff was attentive, the breakfast was great, the room was spacious and comfortable. It was in the second section of the hotel. When you walk in,it feels like you are in a loft apartment. Easy access to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Deborah M,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at “Gathering of Poets” here with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay, we greatly appreciate the kind words you wrote on TripAdvisor. We hope you choose to visit Winston Salem again and would love to have you stay with us again.

Until then, best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fantastic hotel, I stayed there during the high point furniture show and this is a quiet relaxing place to stay. I will be staying here again and again and again. Also you have to have the free wine and cheese in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
David B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn during the High Point Market. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we cannot wait to welcome you back again for Market in October & again in April!

Until then, best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came in on a Sunday evening for a job interview on Monday. My stay was brief but the facilities and the hotel were quite lovely, while the service and staff were friendly. I would certainly look to stay here again if I came into town.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Oscardeneufville,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We certainly hope to welcome you back again should you find yourself back in the Winston Salem area. We thank you again for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn.

Until then, best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookstown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstown Inn

Address: 200 Brookstown Avenue, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookstown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rate includes hot breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evenings, cookies and milk at bedtime. The Brookstown Inn was built in 1837. The Inn has the charm and ambiance of old-world architecture with all the conveniences of a modern conference facility. Its hallmarks of exposed brick walls and wooden beams enhance its Early American decor and help you escape to the charm of yesteryear. We are within a short walk of the restored 1766 Moravian village of Old Salem and convenient to the Winston-Salem business district, North Carolina School of the Arts, the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Arts (SECCA), Winston Salem State University, Wake Forest University, and Salem College. The property is also only a short distance from Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center and Forsyth Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Brookstown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstown Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookstown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.