We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our Favorite Place"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookstown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Brookstown Inn to your Saves list
Brookstown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Brookstown Avenue, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Our Favorite Place"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The historic Brookstown Inn has been our favorite place since we discovered this romantic hidden treasure, with a groupon, and have stayed many times since, as it has such a warm, welcoming & charming atmosphere, and is within a very short distance from Old Salem. The rooms are spacious, some with fireplaces, and large bathrooms, along with the extra touches, such as the chocolates you will find on you pillow, and the lillies in the lobby are such a nice treat. It even has it's own housecat, a street rescue from outside, a fortunate & pampered cat, named Sally, who can usually be found relaxing by the fireplace. We were fortunate enough to meet the general manager, Steve, who was nice enough to sit and talk with us, and fill us in on the history of the Inn as well as Sally's story, informing us, she even receives her own mail and packages filled with special treats from fans of the Inn. The evening cheese and wine reception, and bedtime, cookies and milk are a very nice touch, but the complimentary" hot breakfast bar (delicious) is second to none, located in the beautifully decorated breakfast room complete with all the special touches, Steve worked so hard to achieve, such as cloth tablecloths, glass dinner plates, silverware, and fresh cut flowers. Who could ask for more, except an accommodating staff that is as charming as the place itself, and we can say that as we checked in on Christmas Day, and could not have been treated any nicer by the staff members that were stuck, or by the treatment we received, may have volunteered to work on a holiday, as the spirit of Christmas certainly prevailed. No bah humbug here! You know who you are. Thank you making our Christmas, as well as all of our visits, so special. You guys are the best!!!

Room Tip: Suggest a King Suite, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    40
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
55
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The only drawback was the room was too hot. They brought a fan up and it helped some. Breakfast was nice, the room was huge and well appointed. All in all, a lovely place to stay in a wonderful city!!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have a Kindle Fire and your wifi was not accommodating for this electronic device.
Also, NO HBO OR SHOWTIME.
The television is to far away from the bed. You could not see the tv clearly and the wine and cheese was very nice for meeting other guest.

Room Tip: go for the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you appreciate history, character and charm, you'll love the Brookstown Inn. The room we had was wonderful, with a very high ceiling, exposed brick wall and spacious bathroom. We enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese reception, evening cookies and milk, and complimentary breakfast. The staff members were friendly, and the room charge was very reasonable. An added bonus was the Inn cat, Miss Sally…what a sweetheart! We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and plan to visit again soon.

Room Tip: East wing room we had was a bi-level suite. Not sure about the other areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
NEGeorgiaJean,

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience during your stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We surely hope that you enjoyed your time in Winston Salem as well as your time spent at Brookstown. We are so happy that you were pleased with everything and I am sure Miss Sally loved the attention! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Until then, best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for a conference at the Benton Convention Center about a 1/2 mile away. The Inn was nearby and an excellent value for the money. Our room was quite large and homey. It reminded me of a bedroom in my grandmother's house in a comfortable, welcoming way. The bathroom and closet were both much larger than expected - a nice bonus for 3 ladies sharing a room. We did not get to enjoy some of the little extras like the wine/cheese hour, the cookies/milk hour, or the complimentary breakfast because of our tight schedule, but I did hear others giving rave reviews.
My only complaints were this - it's an old building, and no way to completely insulate from the noise. The guests upstairs from us sounded as though they were running from one side of the room to the other for over an hour as we were trying to go to sleep. Their activity is not the hotel's fault - just mentioning the lack of soundproofing. The other issue was that on Friday night when we tried to shower, we could not get the water any hotter than lukewarm. This was at 6pm. The next morning when we got showers at 7, the water was so hot it was almost scalding, so I guess it's hit or miss.
Overall, I would love to come back when I could spend more time and take advantage of all that the Inn as to offer.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mary T.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We certainly appreciate all the positive feedback from your stay and we hope you enjoyed what time you got to spend in Winston Salem, but we certainly hope you get to come back and enjoy some more free time exploring this amazing city. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Until then, best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wasn't sure what to expect, but was great. Great area in Old Salem and can walk to a few restaurants. Big rooms with nice beds. Bathroom was huge! The premises was very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was good also.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Brew1dude,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We are so happy that your expectations were met, and hopefully exceeded! Thank you for taking the time to share with TripAdvisor your recent stay, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Until then, best wishes and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is excellent, quick access to downtown and Old Salem. Historic hotel with antiques, good hot breakfast, free wifi, lots of free parking, and cookies and milk available until 9pm! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Babyrocket,

Thank for your stellar review on your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn! we appreciate any feedback we get from our guests and are pleased when they enjoyed their stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Winston Salem and we surely hope to welcome you back again soon.

Until then, best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookstown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstown Inn

Address: 200 Brookstown Avenue, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookstown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rate includes hot breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evenings, cookies and milk at bedtime. The Brookstown Inn was built in 1837. The Inn has the charm and ambiance of old-world architecture with all the conveniences of a modern conference facility. Its hallmarks of exposed brick walls and wooden beams enhance its Early American decor and help you escape to the charm of yesteryear. We are within a short walk of the restored 1766 Moravian village of Old Salem and convenient to the Winston-Salem business district, North Carolina School of the Arts, the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Arts (SECCA), Winston Salem State University, Wake Forest University, and Salem College. The property is also only a short distance from Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center and Forsyth Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brookstown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstown Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookstown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.