We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookstown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brookstown Inn to your Saves list
Brookstown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Brookstown Avenue, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Great experience at the Brookstown Inn. Room was great, easy reservations, good breakfast, staff was great. Wine and Cheese was kind of let down, California wine? Was hoping for some wine from the region... Guy serving was a little strange... Unique experience though. Would recommend and go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    36
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
47
48
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We recently stayed here for one night and it was mostly good. The person behind the counter at check-in was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a beautifully repurposed former cotton mill, so there is a lot of exposed brick, beams, and pipes. Lots of character and charm. The room was large with a high ceiling and the bathroom was larger than in most hotels. There's free wine and cheese in the evening and milk and cookies later before bed (cookies are not made there). My complaints are mostly petty: some sort if rattling with the a/c vent, the tub hot/cold handle was really weird to figure-out, and there was only one nightstand. My only major grievance was when we were leaving, carrying arm loads of bags, AARON (employee) was about to come in, saw us about to leave, and instead of grabbing the door for us, simply stepped out of the way. That person was our last impression of an otherwise pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feed back. We are always trying to improve our quality and service and will use your experience as a training tool for our staff.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippi, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was surprised when arriving at this inn. So easy to reserve through tripadvisor.com by the way. Only half an hour after reserving we arrived to find fresh cut flowers in both the bed and bath rooms. Something I've never seen in any of the average hotels I've stayed in. Nor the "luxury" resort I just left.

Our room was lovely. Industrial meets comfort. The room, obviously individualized due to the existing architecture, has very high ceilings and the wall color is not your average cream white. Blues, grays and deep reds. So appropriate. The bed was a tall four poster, very homey. As a side note, bed could use a stool. A Keurig and various coffee and tea choices. The bathroom was huge. So nice to have space to move around in. The faint scent of lilies wafting throughout.

The lounge was probably my favorite room. A forgotten decadence. Rich deep colors. Perfect lighting. Comfortable furniture and antiques from a long ago generation. Wine and cheese at the restored bar.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and I want to thank them for deciding fresh flowers were a good idea. They were. My husband and I definitely plan to visit this Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your feed back. We are always trying to improve our quality and service and it is important for us to know how we are doing. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I've stayed at the Brookstown multiple times since 1988. It's a bit run-down from those early days but still a wonderful experience. A great place to stay if you're visiting Old Salem Village. Very quiet and comfortable. A friend joined me on my last visit who didn't have the previous ones to compare and he was quite impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are always trying to improve our facility and service and comments from our customers is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The visit was very nice. The close proximity to Old Salem was convenient since we had come to attend the Easter Moravian Sunrise Service at Gods Acre. Very courteous staff and everything was great. The foldout sofa bed in our room has seen better days though!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Its always nice to hear from our valued customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a nice stay at the inn. Breakfast, wine and cheese and cookie and milk were very good. We loved the building, room and location. The only negative was the front desk staff. They did provide service but across all four shifts that I interacted with none of them seemed like they wanted to be there. I would have to describe their demeanors as flat. It was a bit of an effort to get information from them. The one exception was the bartender-he modeled excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel. We are always trying to improve our quality and service. Normally our staff gets great reviews. We are so sorry that they disappointed you.
If we can help you in the future please let me know.
Steve Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My family needed a place to stay suddenly when our father was admitted into Wake Forest Baptist Hospital. After a day in hospital room in was a relief to enter a hotel that visually delighted us. Brookstown Inn is charming, spacious, and delightful to explore.
The room was spacious with hard wood floors and a modern bathroom with a fabulous shower. The beds of course were the best characteristic. Deep and luxurious with plenty of fluffy pillows and lots of warm bedding. I have never been this comfortable in a hotel. And because this is a converted cotton mill, the walls are thick. The silence was fabulous!
There are complementary toiletries, hair drier, iron and board available. And enough towels for 4 people. The really nice surprise was a Kourig coffe machine. So nice!
Besides the wine and cheese hour and the following cookie and milk hour, there is a large lovely brick courtyard for seating or smokers. There is also a nice large comfy seating area inside that I was able to make phone calls at and just relax with a coffee. We arrived too late to have dinner but there are several restaurants just across the store that we easily walked to.
The staff was super pleasant and very accommodating as well. They will even take guests on a tour of the mill if asked. We didn't partake of the continental breakfast because even though it was a lovely array of pastries and cereal, I prefer a more substantial breakfast. At checkout, we were told that they provide a special rate for families with loved ones at Baptist Hospital.
If this sounds good to you, I wouldn't hesitate to book. The only downside to this Inn is that it's so good it fills up quick!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your business and the nice comments. We are always looking to improve our
quality and service.
Steve Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookstown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstown Inn

Address: 200 Brookstown Avenue, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookstown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rate includes hot breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evenings, cookies and milk at bedtime. The Brookstown Inn was built in 1837. The Inn has the charm and ambiance of old-world architecture with all the conveniences of a modern conference facility. Its hallmarks of exposed brick walls and wooden beams enhance its Early American decor and help you escape to the charm of yesteryear. We are within a short walk of the restored 1766 Moravian village of Old Salem and convenient to the Winston-Salem business district, North Carolina School of the Arts, the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Arts (SECCA), Winston Salem State University, Wake Forest University, and Salem College. The property is also only a short distance from Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center and Forsyth Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brookstown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstown Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookstown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.