We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See in Winston-Salem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winkler Bakery

Winkler Bakery
525 S Main St, Winston Salem, NC 27101
(336) 721-7302
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 569 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Restaurant details
Nashville. TN
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Must See in Winston-Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

They open @ 10:00 am try to avoid the school times as the bakery is tiny and fills quickly with 30 children. I bought tons of everything. Moravian ginger snaps are a must try-- and any of the sweet rolls. I didn't think the chicken pie was worth it ( $23) it was pretty small. The apple cake was dry, but everything else was wonderful--- its a great and quick stop and FREE-- The children were amazed----

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unique site!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great site to learn of 19th century baking techniques from the bakers themselves. And the baked items available are a very special treat!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobaccoville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“interesting and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The bakery shows the way things were made in colonial times. Be sure to pick up some yummy sugar cake or Moravian cookies.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“AWESOME BREAD AND COOKIES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's an amazing bakery working the same as it did 200 years ago. The stone ovens are heated with wood and customers are allowed to see the entire process. FREE

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must-stop tradition when in Winston-Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I lived on the Salem College campus for a summer camp many years ago and was introduced to Winkler Bakery while I was there. I loved buying the Moravian ginger cookies and sugar cakes for snacks while I was at camp, and the same holds true over a decade later! Every time I'm in Winston-Salem I stop by for a tin of cookies and a sugar cake. The staff is always friendly and often have fun stories to share with you while you're in the shop. If you haven't had a Winkler Bakery sugar cake, you have to try one! It's one of my favorite treats and you have to experience one baked the Winkler way...it is perfection!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkler Bakery also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Winkler Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkler Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.