We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting and yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winkler Bakery

Winkler Bakery
525 S Main St, Winston Salem, NC 27101
(336) 721-7302
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 569 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Restaurant details
Tobaccoville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“interesting and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The bakery shows the way things were made in colonial times. Be sure to pick up some yummy sugar cake or Moravian cookies.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“AWESOME BREAD AND COOKIES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's an amazing bakery working the same as it did 200 years ago. The stone ovens are heated with wood and customers are allowed to see the entire process. FREE

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must-stop tradition when in Winston-Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I lived on the Salem College campus for a summer camp many years ago and was introduced to Winkler Bakery while I was there. I loved buying the Moravian ginger cookies and sugar cakes for snacks while I was at camp, and the same holds true over a decade later! Every time I'm in Winston-Salem I stop by for a tin of cookies and a sugar cake. The staff is always friendly and often have fun stories to share with you while you're in the shop. If you haven't had a Winkler Bakery sugar cake, you have to try one! It's one of my favorite treats and you have to experience one baked the Winkler way...it is perfection!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We got a nice history lesson, the original bakery was staffed by
lovely people, and sampled wonderful sugar cakes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fresh Breads in Old Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you like fresh baked bread just out of a wood-fired brick oven, then you will love the breads that come out of the C. Winkler Bakery in Old Salem. A visit to Old Salem would not be complete without a stop in the bakery, and of course, you cannot leave without a bag full of fresh baked goodness.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkler Bakery also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Winkler Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkler Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.