We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skippy's

Skippy's
624 W 4th St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-2730
336-722-3442
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 570 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: Hot Dogs
Restaurant details
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Cutest little place with awesome hotdogs. Pretzel rolls really the best part....you must go - worth the short wait in line!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
greenville sc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great hot dogs on pretzel rolls. This was one of the BEST hotdogs I have ever eaten, "all the way", truly Southern--all the way. Customize the dogs to suit your taste, they also have kraut. The fries were also very good. If you like really good Hotdogs be sure to visit Skippy's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Dogs, great buns, great fries, great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I enjoyed a regular hot dog here and my daughter went with the veggie dog. Both were excellent, and the fries are great too! There are even a couple tiny tables outside, so we sat out there. The buns are pretzel, and delicious, too, and we really like the fact that you can customize your dog with a wide variety of toppings, all free.

My past experience, sometimes they get a little jammed in terms of a wait for your food, but it is good stuff! We went a little earlier and had no problem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THESE DOGS ARE GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's a small menu, order at counter, and it's brought to you.
The dogs are the best I've had, as are the TERRIFIC fries (and I rarely eat fries).
Small place that fills up, but also turns quickly. Tea, soda and bottled beer available.
Excellent value.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“They don't ruin a good (great) dog here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a tiny shop that specializes in upper crust hot dogs -- and they do them great! They do have a few other non-dog items (and even a veggie dog) but the dog's where it's at here! They use all beef dogs split and grilled, with their own homemade pretzel dog buns! (These buns are worth the trip itself). Then you can load them up with just about anything you want -- they even do a fair "Chicago" style dog (all the right fixen's but of course on their pretzel roll and not the standard sesame seed bun).

My faves are the "All the Way" (slaw, mustard, chili) and Rueben (grilled sauerkraut, mustard, swiss cheese) !

The fries are plentiful and fresh and hot -- and they even have malted vinegar to appease my English heritage! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skippy's also viewed

Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Skippy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skippy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.