We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer list, fantastic pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
314 W 4th St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-2840
336-245-2820
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 570 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great beer list, fantastic pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Fun spot to grab gourmet pizza and good beer. The pizzas were delicious with a great chewy crust. Lots of good pizza combinations

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    26
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pizza, Pretzels & Calzone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Absolutely great food. I've never eaten all gluten free food. I ordered a meatball calzone, my son and husband shared a pizza and my daughter ordered baked pretzels. Not only did the food look fantastic, it smell great and the taste was out of this world. Highly recommend mellow Mushroom. Prices were satisfactory. $30. for 4 people to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, VA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Didn't have pizza but liked it....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I had sandwiches which were way above average. Fresh toasted bread, large portions, fresh ingredients. The Italian and the steak/cheese both very good. Large selection of local beers, we had the Natty Green IPA draft. Awesome. Warning, the atmosphere sucks. Concrete and Formica decor equals noisy as hell.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, NC
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Always a Good Standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stopped in at Mellow Mushroom in the downtown area of Winston-Salem. I've written reviews before about Mellow Mushroom, and always thoroughly enjoy their food. If you haven't tried it, I'd recommend it over any other pizza restaurant!

One noteworthy difference about this location is that it was self service for lunch only. Saved us quite a bit in tips! You order at the counter and get your own drinks, but they bring you your food. A good compromise for lunch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food but always busy and loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Good subs sandwiches and salads. Pizza very good. Only knock on this location is that it is VERY LOUD inside with all the patrons and loudish music. Can be fun at times but generally mostly annoying after about 30 mins. Service always a little slow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.