We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Southern cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milners

Milners
630 S. Stratford Rd., Winston Salem, NC 27103
(336) 768-2221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 557 restaurants in Winston Salem
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Southern cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great spot if you like southern cuisine, Milner's puts an upscale twist on classics like fried chicken but also serves up other southern favorites like she-crab soup. Don't miss the dessert either!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    91
    27
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro NC
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Very good food, well prepared, tastefully served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A foodie who lives in WS recommended this restaurant to us as perhaps the best in town. Of course, we had to go. We had an early dinner - my wife the scallops, me the tuna. Both were excellent. The bartender's-choice martini of the day was excellent as well. The ambience is spotless and attractive, with interesting original paintings and photos (some for sale) all around. The place exudes unpretentious class - simple elegance. Our waitperson was friendly and competent without being over the top; she was happy to work there, and it showed. Prices and options were fair. Please do yourself a favor and eat at this restaurant. It was opened about 8 years ago by a couple of chef-brothers, and they are in the process of opening another restaurant in Clemmons, down the road, named (you guessed it) Brothers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoy Southern gourmet fare and Charleston ambiance in Winston-Salem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Not having been to one of my local favorites in a while, I enjoyed a Thursday night dinner at Milner's on Stratford Road. As has been my previous experience, informed attentive service, nice selection of appetizers, small plates and entrees. Started my meal with a golden beet and sugar snap pea salad, garnished with a light dressing and pistachio nuts. Milner's version of shrimp and grits with large shrimp, sausage, tomatoes and creamy grits is one of my favorites. Rich, but not overly spicy and was the perfect choice for my main course. The dessert selection was tempting but opted for a Southern Martini (peach schnapps and Firefly Sweet Tea Vodka) instead. A lovely sweet drink and just the right ending to my dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randleman, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Upscale southern cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The atmosphere and food were great. Our server did an amazing job. He knew what to suggest and the portion sizes. I had shrimp and grits and got the larger size. Took home half for lunch the next day. The fried pickles were really good, highly recommend. Next time I plan on trying the fried green tomatoes. Great restaurant for a date night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The food is creative, great quality, tasty and the atmosphere is laid back. Milners always pleases. The bar scene is fun and lively. They even do brunch well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milners also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Milners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.