We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale southern food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milners

Milners
630 S. Stratford Rd., Winston Salem, NC 27103
(336) 768-2221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 582 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Upscale southern food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food and atmosphere were great. Quiet place, and lovely for a family dinner. We had reservations and got in without a problem. I had a vegetable plate, and it was very good. The mac and cheese has cinnamon in it, which I was not expecting, but it was an interesting twist. It's a must try, atleast once!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    43
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch, comfortable, delicious, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was my first time here but it has instantly become a favorite. The atmosphere was pleasant. We had steak, fish, and vegetables and all was excellent. I ordered a steak from the dinner menu instead of the lighter lunch menu. It was seasoned well and tender although overcooked just slightly. I like my steak rare to med rare and know to always expect a non-steakhouse to overcook but this time I forgot. I didn't complain because it was so good and everything else was so good. I did mention it to the waitress (without complaint!) and she insisted we have a complimentary dessert and coffee. By the way, the coffee was excellent and the coconut cake was fresh, moist, and one of the best ever! All in all, this was an excellent restaurant experience and I recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This restaurant offers great atmosphere and a wide variety menu with such delicious treats. Wonderful entrees and delicious specialty items. I love this place. The ginger cookie crusted Salmon is one of my favorites along with the apple slaw. The mac and cheese is another favorite of mine. You will love this restaurant all the way around but make reservations on the weekend, as many people love it. Service has always been great too!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfafftown, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charleston in Winston Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The owners were trained in Charleston and it shows. She Crab soup is wonderful. You can get an upscale meal or comfort food. Don't miss this place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfafftown, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Milners is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The buttermilk fried oysters make me so happy. Good atmosphere and have yet to order anything I did not love.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milners also viewed

 
 

Been to Milners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.