We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sandwiches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carving Board

Carving Board
318 S Stratford Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27103-1820
336-748-9118
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 570 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Price range: $10 - $15
Restaurant details
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Everything is fresh and sandwiches are prepared while you watch. Nice assortment of salad items. It is really busy at lunch time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, NC
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Could eat there daily with a little extra money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Food is FANTASTIC but the prices are a little high for my "middle class" budget. I go there for a special treat. Sandwiches are about what any nice deli would charge. Fritos are $1.50 for gosh sakes; and a Pepsi is $1.50 - take your own drink or get water. Tuna salad is 10.95 a pound! But it IS good! and the bow-tie pasta salad is one of my favorites. Check the website for the specials of the day.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The Carving Board Never Disappoints!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

As a lifelong Winston-Salem resident, I've had lunch or dinner at this busy little restaurant many times...the last time being just yesterday!! The many salads, soups, sandwiches and meats are always freshly prepared and simply delectible. The three salad plate always hits the spot: choose a meat salad (such as tuna with grapes and celery) or chicken salad (no skimpy shredded chicken here!!), a green salad (Spinich, Ceasar, green salad), and a pasta, potato or noodle based salad...Served with a roll and generous portions, this choice is more than one can handle and well worth the $10.50 price. If this choice does not hit the spot for you, choose a half-sandwich and salad or soup...for $7.50, it's a heck of a super meal!!
Sandwiches here are stacked high with meats and cheese or meat salads with lettuce and tomato and the 3 daily homemade soups are to die for...especially in fall and winter. The desserts are so tempting that it is almost impossible to pass this section by...homemade carrot cake, brownies, red velvet cake, etc. Yes, it is almost impossible to just slide in, order in line and have a seat, but the wait is never too long and the servers are pleasent and helpful. I love, love The Carving Board and consider each visit here a special treat...different and delicious!!
PS--The outside seating is wonderful in spring, summer and early fall...and the inside decor is inviting, as well...great place for a sensational meal!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's all good!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Yes,, the lines can be long...but well worth the wait. It appears a little expensive, but add the quality and quantity...it can't be beat!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Place in Winston for lunch or a quick dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

The Carving Board time after time never fails. Of course with any restaurant I go to once I find one thing I like, I stick to it and order the same item time after time. When you first arrive (mainly during lunch time) the line is out the door. Trust me though, the wait is well worth it. I get A grilled chicken sandwich with honey mustard, swiss, pickle, and avocado and I can never leave out the spicy sesame noodles. I have made them myself at home after visiting several times but nothing compares to how they make them. I now want to make the effort to drive out to buy it at home to snack on throughout the week. The one negative about the restaurant is everything I bought by weight. If you get a bigger piece of chicken, the price is higher. The additional weight of toppings and extra sides increases the price rapidly. And fountain drinks are purchased by the individual can. However for 12 bucks, my sandwich, noodles, and diet coke, is well worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carving Board also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Carving Board? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carving Board, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.