We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all good!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carving Board

Carving Board
318 S Stratford Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27103-1820
336-748-9118
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 582 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Price range: $10 - $15
Restaurant details
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's all good!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Yes,, the lines can be long...but well worth the wait. It appears a little expensive, but add the quality and quantity...it can't be beat!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best Place in Winston for lunch or a quick dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Carving Board time after time never fails. Of course with any restaurant I go to once I find one thing I like, I stick to it and order the same item time after time. When you first arrive (mainly during lunch time) the line is out the door. Trust me though, the wait is well worth it. I get A grilled chicken sandwich with honey mustard, swiss, pickle, and avocado and I can never leave out the spicy sesame noodles. I have made them myself at home after visiting several times but nothing compares to how they make them. I now want to make the effort to drive out to buy it at home to snack on throughout the week. The one negative about the restaurant is everything I bought by weight. If you get a bigger piece of chicken, the price is higher. The additional weight of toppings and extra sides increases the price rapidly. And fountain drinks are purchased by the individual can. However for 12 bucks, my sandwich, noodles, and diet coke, is well worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This food is really fantastic, you go through a line and choose.
The only bad part is feeling rushed because there is always a line!!! I have never been disappointed in my choices.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A favorite with the locals...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Food is delicious - perfect for dining in, taking out, or taking home. Delicious array of sandwiches and salads --- all served cafeteria-style.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's okay if you don't want to cook.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

You have to go early or the food looks rough after 8:00 pm. It's great if you can't cook & want chicken salad because they have about five different kinds of chicken salad. It's also great if you don't want to cook for your family and you want fairly decent food. However, the face that you pay by the lb., can rack up the cost.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carving Board also viewed

Winston Salem, NC
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Carving Board? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carving Board, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.