We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finnigan's Wake Irish Pub

Finnigan's Wake Irish Pub
620 North Trade Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
(336) 723-0322
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 582 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Matthews, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food and great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A great selection of beers on tap and in the bottle and an excellent selection of Irish favorites.
Order the Scotch Eggs. They are probably not heart healthy but they are great. As expected the Boxty and Reuben are also excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great Irish food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My fiancé and I joined a group of friends here before a show at Ziggy’s. It was picked out by someone in our party who is a local and what a great choice.

Our group tried the Ruben sandwiches, Granny Smith Chicken Sandwich, Creamy Celtic tomato soup, the Herbed Marinated wild salmon, Bangers & Mash, and the fried cod sandwich. I go for the small portion of fish and chips while Nick gets the Blarney Burger. My fish and chips are fantastic. The fish is fresh tasting and light instead of greasy. Nick’s burger is thick and juicy and amazing. Every had nothing but great things to say about their food. The tomato soup looked incredible and nice and thick not runny. Their potato chips are hand made and I tried them and delish.

They have an extensive bar. When everyone was doing shots they brought out a whisky book! I didn’t know there were that many whiskies out there. The atmosphere here is warm and inviting. Our group was quickly seated. Our waitress was great and service never lacked. They do have vegetarian options. Parking is on the street. The restaurant is located in the downtown area and it is within walking distance of Ziggy’s.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Fun place. Average food. Nice Pub.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The decor and service is good and there is a lively crowd here. I have had good food and average food. I think for a pub, the food overall is good and the prices are fairly reasonable.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quirky and Delicious Irish Pub-Grub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We happened upon this restaurant one afternoon, had lunch there, and have been back many times. It's so authentic for Irish food and beers. Their waitstaff is great ... outgoing and knowledgeable. Finnigan's Wake is such a fun place to have lunch. I'm a vegetarian and can always find something yummy. If you're up for a fun Irish restaurant, Finnigan's will not disappoint. ENJOY!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Downtown pub with neighborhood feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Friendly staff, great knowledgible bartenders, and huge beer and wine selections. Upscale pub grub just like the best pubs on the old sod.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finnigan's Wake Irish Pub also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Finnigan's Wake Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finnigan's Wake Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.