We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of choices from a huge menu, but question overall freshness.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's Oyster Bar & Seafood

Jimmy's Oyster Bar & Seafood
3440 Frontis St, Winston Salem, NC 27103-5507
336-659-1490
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 570 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lancaster, Pa.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lots of choices from a huge menu, but question overall freshness.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My sisters and I ventured into this large restaurant in Winston-Salem, NC. Wait time, because of our reservations, was minimal. Our server, Brandyn, was very attentive and friendly and that helped make the overall experience better. The menu was huge, with inserts in plastic menu covers that were somewhat soiled. The size of the menu is quite overwhelming (3-4 sections), and makes the diner wonder about freshness of this huge variety of seafood products. I'm sure much of it is frozen. I had clams, and one sister had the oysters followed by flounder, and the other one had the scallops. My clams were chewy and lacked a fresh taste (I love clams and know what the fresh ones taste like), the sister with the oysters/flounder really enjoyed her meal, which is why I gave this restaurant 4 stars, and the sister with the scallops said they were "ok". I'm new to the area, but not so sure I would return to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    39
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food + the Best Staff EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I went to Jimmy's tonight and loved it! From the tasty, bountiful food to the excellent service... we had a fabulous dining experience. I had the admiral platter and could barely get through it all. My husband had the baby back ribs... he barely touched them, but not because they weren't good, but he was already stuffed after a scrumptious blooming onion, hush puppies that could literally melt in your mouth, and the pre-dinner salad. The service was top notch. Our server, Anton was ahhhhmazing! We could want for nothing, and even the other servers and manager were pleasant and very attentive. The atmosphere is casual, the music was perfect for the setting, and the place was packed. I can't believe we haven't been there before tonight, but we will definitely be back. Signed, One Happy Customer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beats Red Lobster hands-down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have not been to a Red Lobster in....well, I don't know how long. Jimmy's is so much better in the seafood category. They have more than your typical fried fish like RL seems to always have.

This is hubby's favorite local seafood restaurant.

Now, I will say that the service can be so much better. We have never had to wait here, even when arriving at 6pm on a Friday or Saturday night. They have one section where the tables are so close together that my petite 14 year old daughter cannot even squeeze into a chair if someone is behind it at the other table. Each time they have tried to put us here, I always request to be seated somewhere else.

There have also been times when we have waited a very long time for the food. Sometimes 45 minutes.

Hubby really loves the mahi-mahi and yellowfin, so we do go several times a year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been here several times. Nice decor, good wait staff. Food is nothing special. I wish they would try more unique dishes. I am not sure they use fresh seafood from our NC coastal waters but I wish they would.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“The food was good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My friend who was a local here recommended this as one of the better seafood restaurants around. We decided to give this a try for one of our dinner outings. The three of us ordered separate things and they were all just decent, not excellent. What I did not like most was the feeling like we were asking to be rushed out. We arrived when the restaurant was empty, but wanted to sit and talk a little more. The restaurant began filling up and our waitress wanted us out so she can seat another group. Maybe we would have given it a 4 instead of a 3 if the service was a little better.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Oyster Bar & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Oyster Bar & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's Oyster Bar & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.