We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Taste of New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mario's Pizza

Mario's Pizza
1066 Hanes Mall Blvd, Winston Salem, NC 27103-1309
336-768-0057
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 570 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Little Taste of New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is our new favorite place for New York style pizza--great crust, great sauce and authentic without being drenched in grease. You can order it by the slice or by the pie. They offer a few specialties, but their basic pizza just comes with cheese (a 15" for under $12) and you can create your own special from their list of toppings (each topping costs $1.50). They offer great meal-deal specials for one-topping pizzas.

The little dining room was crowded, but we were totally impressed with how clean it was kept, even in the midst of the dinner rush. We ordered our pizza to-go and the friendly staff had it ready quickly. We were impressed with the service and efficiency and will definitely be going back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calabash, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I'll Be Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Went to Mario's last nite and tried the white pizza with spinach. . . Absolutely the best I have ever eaten and I'm from the NE. Aka NY/NJ. Great place. My husband had chicken parm and he is giving it a 10. Red sauce was great! Thank you Mario's!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathews va
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

While in W-S for the week I was looking for good pizza and found Marios. The pizza was great, as was cannoli and salad. Very authentic. Service was quick and friendly despite a busy restaurant both times I went.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a fan of pizza says it's great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Event the plain pizzas are terrific. You can order a slice of pizza and it is so large and full that its almost a meal. Service is always friendly and fast.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I'm from New Jersey, so I know good pizza. Mario's pizza is the closest you are going to get to NY pizza in Winston Salem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Mario's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mario's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.