We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiban Japanese Restaurant

Ichiban Japanese Restaurant
270 S Stratford Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27103-1818
336-725-3050
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 570 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Super fast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We thought we would give this small Japanese Rastaurant a try before going grocery shopping next door. We didn't tell the waitress we were in a hurry (though we were). We ordered mushroom soup and sushi. It was the fastest making sushi I have ever seen! The sushi and soup were good and the waitress was on top of her game. We were in and out of there within 20 minutes, which worked great for us. I'm hoping next time I go, I'll be able to take my time and order more delicious food. I will be going back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I have been eating here at least once a week for 9 years. We love it. The food is great, the service is wonderful. Lots and lots of people come here regularly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Laid Back Atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great quality, flavorful, & quick, friendly, service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Favorite with many in this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My favorites are the salad with carrot dressing, udon noodles. Everyone very friendly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our Favorite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is our favorite sushi restaurant in Winston salem and we have tried them all. Quality is top notch. The gyoza dumplings are the best I've ever had. The staff is fun and friendly and always takes time to get to know their customers. Food, esp sushi, is so good that even people who aren't "sushi people" will find it fantastic and might just find a love for sushi they never knew they had. Our favorite nigiri is the BBQ eel. Our favorite nori maki is the Dragon Roll and the Sakura Roll. The Dragon Roll contains BBQ eel,avacado,tempura shrimp and crab mix. Make sure to have the waitress bring a side of Lobster Sauce and a side of Gyoza Sauce for dipping. The Sakura Roll contains tempura eel,salmon,shrimp,white tuna,cucumber,avacado and cream cheese. The both are well priced at$10.95 and both rolls contain nice sized portions. The nigiri BBQ eel prices at $4.00 for 2 pieces and they
are worth every penny. Our other favorite is the Yum Yum Roll. Priced at $10.95, Yum Yum contains tuna,salmon,yellow tail,cream cheese and the entire roll is deep fried and served with a seaweed salad. The seaweed salad is not my particular favorite but we have many friends who LOVE it! Great place,great food,great location,great experience. We eat here at least once a month and will be back again and again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ichiban Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiban Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.