We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Henry Shaffner House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henry F. Shaffner House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Henry F. Shaffner House to your Saves list
Henry F. Shaffner House
150 South Marshall Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
Hotel amenities
Holmdel, New Jersey
1 review
“Historic Henry Shaffner House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This b&b is a great alternative to chain hotels when visiting Winston-Salem. A beautiful tiger oak paneled foyer sets the tone for a warm and gracious visit. We were greeted by both the owner and manager upon arrival as if we were their personal friends visiting for the week-end. They were happy to share the history of the Henry Shaffner house with archival photos,antiques and a tour which noted the many original decorative features and distinctive lighting fixtures.
Breakfast is served on a sunny enclosed solarium with linen tablecloths,napkins and fresh flowers on each table graced by comfortable chippendale chairs.An attractive buffet of homemade eggs,bacon,and potato gratinee casserole ,as well as fresh fruits,juices ,yogurts and bakery items awaits the guests.The following day we were served Scott's delicious French toast with maple syrup . (He is even willing to share the recipe! Yum!)
Also ,there is no knowledge like local knowledge and Scott was able to tell us the best place to buy a nice bottle of champagne as well as the places not to miss when walking around charming historic old Salem. It was also fun to discuss various restaurants for dinner with someone who has actually eaten at them.
Do try this very gracious and accommodating Inn if you are tired of carbon copy hotel chains. Last time I checked they do not offer complimentary wine and cheese cocktails served by the main fireplace to their guests the way the Shaffner House does!
Richard and Mary C.

Room Tip: The Salem room is the original master bedroom in this grand house. Very light,spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
21
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the Shaffner House which is a truly beautiful old home. Our room was very pretty and the location was convenient for the furniture shopping we had traveled to the High Point area to do.
With some tweaking, this could be a real knock-out place. More attention needs to be given to cleaning; the makeup mirror was grimy and the shower still had a stuck soap bar on the bottom. More creativity could be focused on the breakfasts; we had the same scrambled egg breakfast everyone else mentions two days in a row. With a bakery just down the street, fresh breads would be a great accompaniment and a variety of breakfasts would be easy to do. The manager seems eager to please so I hope this place can be rated a 5 star place in the future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My family is still raving about my wedding reception that was held on April the 21st at The Shaffner House!!!! The service was exceptional and professional!!! Hats off to Betty and Scott, they were wonderful and made my day so special.

Food was Exceptional
- Breakfast was out of this world!!
- Reception dinner of filet mignon, garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus was served hot and
was the best tasting steak I have ever had!!!

I would suggest for anyone who is thinking about utilizing The Shaffner House for any venue to do it! Because, its the people that make the difference and they went the extra mile for us! Thanks so much!!

Sincerely,

Dominic J. Rapton

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our experience here has always been enjoyable and the Innkeeper, Scott, is a dream. He is bright and attends to his guests' every whim. We have stayed at three other locales when we visit our daughter at college and this is our favorite because of location, ambience, and a nice breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs, grits, etc. The linens are very nice and the old world feel we find pleasing and yet one is able to fit into the bathrooms, unlike an antique inn down the street. We look forward to our next visit here and thank you, Scott!

Room Tip: we use the Tanglewood for a one person stay and we like the Wachovia for a pair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I am puzzled about this place. It is beside a freeway, which adds to road noise if you are in an upstairs room. We had both an upstairs and a BASEMENT room. The basement had no noise, but was not pleasant. I do not know why the Shaffner rents out basement rooms. Let me start with the rooms.

The upstairs one was fine, spacious and clean, except for the noise, our son liked it. We looked for earplugs, but none to be found. The basement suite was weird. The room was either cold or freezing with no way to adjust the temp, so I slept with layers on, and the air quality was poor with a lingering scent of air freshener. There was a sink/counter/fridge/bar area with no utensils, bottled water, plates...so why have this? An old, rattan sofa with a pit in the center for an uncomfortable sit. We spent no time in the $200/night room. Reading lamp by the bed was useless and every piece of furniture looked like it came from a thrift store.

The inn is darkly furnished with a feel of better days to it. We were alone except for one other couple, so it was very quiet..too quiet. I don't remember any music playing. There was wine and cheese out, not super great stuff, but I suppose if you needed something, it was there. The innkeeper at the time was accomodating, but not always around in the evenings. He did make a restaurant suggestion that we appreciated ( 4th Street Filling Station). The dining room is just plain yucky, the worst I have ever been in. Weird music for breakfast and too loud for my tastes. They use a Keurig (sigh), and we had to ask for condiments. Not very hospitality oriented. Unbelievably horrible food...no fruit, juice if asked, Keurig coffee, a slice of strata and burned potatoes that the innkeeper apologized for when he served the plates. WHAT??? We ate our one piece of strata, and that was what we got for a $200/night, and $150/night rooms. We scattered for the day, with no bottled water available and very little else.

For the money, this place is a rip-off. We are new parents to the Wake Forest community, with many reservations to come at the local hotels. We are looking forward to trying out several options in the years to come, but this place is off the list..forever.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the basement rooms. Ask where the room is located first before renting. Bring your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our family recently enjoyed a Thanksgiving reunion. The Shaffner House served as our home base where some of us stayed for five days. An overnight stay provides a glimpse at a lodging where a more extended stay allows a real feel for the staff and the accommodations.

Apparently, the Shaffner House had some management problems in the past but those issues are behind them as the new house manager Scott could not have been more attentive to our needs. He oversaw just about each and every aspect of our stay from baking homemade chocolate chip cookies to preparing wine and cheese each evening. The breakfasts were tasty but his French Toast and Oatmeal Brûlée were exceptional.

The rooms are large, nicely appointed, and comfortable. This historic house is over 100 years old, yet the owners have remodeled to modern standards with beautiful furniture in keeping with the original architecture.

The location is conveniently situated within walking distance to the historic Old Salem and down the street from Winston-Salem's famous Ollie's bakery. It's fun to stroll the old streets of Salem, eat sugar cake baked in the old ovens of Salem, and marvel at God's Acre where graves date to the mid 1700's only to simply walk back to the Shaffner House after a morning of site-seeing and shopping.

My only suggestion is that the house manager, although always upbeat and excited about serving his guests, should have housekeeping assistance. Other than that, the Shaffner House is a wonderful alternative to Graylyn where for three years previous we had stayed. In comparison, the rooms at the Shaffner House are much larger and better appointed. The estate at Graylyn is indeed beautiful; however, the old estate badly needs refurbishing. But note that Shaffner is a B&B while Graylyn is full-service
lodging. For a bed and breakfast, the Shaffner House can't be beat.

Room Tip: The Wachovia Room is gorgeous and large and features the original claw-foot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Elegant...Comfortable...Interesting...Convenient....Impressive.....Gracious....these are the adjectives that come to mind to describe the Shaffner House. Located in the heart of Winston Salem, the property boasts fabulous views of the city's architecture, both new and old, impressive by day and even more so at night when the Art Deco style domed Wachovia (or Wells Fargo as the case may be) Building glows like a giant decorative candle!. But that is just the tip of the iceburg! The Inn is a beautifully restored piece of Winston Salem's history, and Betty is its expert curator (as well as host, guide, gourmet chef, etc). She and her husband have done a fabulous job of preserving and restoring this grand mansion. Our room was as comfortable as it was interesting and stocked with every amenity. The common areas are spacious, lovely, and relaxing. And Breakfast!?! Only a capital "B" can be used to describe Betty's Breakfast! Other adjectives that come to mind are Southern, generous, and deliciously filling. You can plan on skipping lunch...you won't need it! Be sure and read the fascinating history of the house and its original owner that Betty has put together and placed in each room (many details are first hand accounts from one of the sons who grew up in the house). Although there were no weddings, family reunions, etc, taking place on the weeknight that we were there, we could see that the house and grounds would be a perfect place for such celebrations. The purpose of our trip to Winston Salem was actually not for pleasure, but for a doctor appointment at Wake Forest. We decided to stay at a B&B instead of one of the chain hotels across the street from the Medical Center because we wanted to have something pleasant and fun to counter the not-so-fun medical procedure...in the spirit of Mary Poppins' spoonful of sugar helping the medicine go down! The Shaffner House was the perfect sugar-coating. It is conveniently close to Wake Forest, its beauty and history provided great distractions, it's comfortable AND comforting, and Betty's kindness and helpfulness in accomodating all our needs was a wonderful balm. Thanks, Betty, for a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Wachovia Room...BIG bathroom, clawfoot tub, spectacular views of the city at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henry F. Shaffner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry F. Shaffner House

Address: 150 South Marshall Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Henry F. Shaffner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry F. Shaffner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.