We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Street Bed and Breakfast Inns

Summit Street Bed and Breakfast Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winston Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summit Street Bed and Breakfast Inns
420 Summit Street, 434 Summit Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
Hotel amenities
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“3rd time not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

3rd visit for my wife and I in the last several years. First two trips were perfect. Third one not so good. When we checked in on Friday our room was 80 degrees When I asked the inn keeper about it he told me to turn the fan on and the room would cool down. He also told me to not turn thr tempeture below 70 as the ac unit would freeze up. This should have been a red flag for us but we went ahead and took the room. It did get down to 75 that night and with the fan it was ok. The second night was a nighmare. When we returned to the room after being out all day it was 80 again. When we woke up (after sweating all night it was 85) We left an hour later and left the host a note. We also left him a text as he communicated this way and still no response. We loved this place the first 3 times and thought the host would respond to our complaint. We will not return Skip Francis

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We've stayed at this B&B several times. It's legitimately funky and charming, with the ramshackle exterior appearance of the two separate Inn buildings (reminiscent of the Addams family!) more than offset by the excellent bedding, big Jacuzzis and state-of-the-art electronics within.

The in-room. microwavable breakfast includes good coffee, fresh-squeezed orange juice, fruit and and tasty quiches and muffins. We happen to like the ability to eat when we want at a set table within our suite -- but others may have different preferences.

However, the innkeeper's response to difficult economic conditions seems to have been to increase room rates and decrease service -- which as others have pointed out is not delivered with a smile. Once one begins to get a bad taste in one's mouth during a stay, the shortcomings of the establishment become more evident. In the case of the Summit Street Inns, these include worn and soiled carpet, taped-up plastic in the shower, public areas that seem increasingly dank every time we visit, and signage that verges on the hostile.

We'll likely seek out other alternatives the next time we're in the area -- assuming that they will be more eager for our business.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Only one block south are two excellent local restaurants. The billiard room was fun. The exercise room was surprising, with perhaps $10,000 of Nautilus equipment. There were hundreds of free movies on demand, shown on a new flat-screen TV. The spa in the bathroom was relaxing, with candles, jazz, and free beer. Comfortable bed, pillows, and sheets. Breakfast was in the mini refrig (efficient, friendly, self-service).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed here twice in September 2009; room 222 both times. The room was immaculate and beautifully furnished with many Victorian antiques. The innkeeper was friendly and helpful, and not “in your face”. Much has been said in the other reviews about the breakfast, so let me address that here. Breakfast is pre-made (coffee, juice, bagel, fruit cup, broccoli quiche) and waiting in the refrigerator; there is a microwave, coffee-maker, and small table and chairs. At the time of your choice, you just heat up the quiche according to the instructions and breakfast is served! I like the traditional communal B&B breakfasts too, but this suited us just fine, and we could eat on our own time schedule.

The Inn is located in the West End neighborhood with architecturally interesting homes and a lovely little park nearby. Just 2 blocks away were several nice restaurants; we ate at the 4th Street Filling Station and West End Café; both were very good! I imagine this Inn would be popular with business travelers who want something different from the usual cookie-cutter hotel room: it’s close to downtown, within easy walking distance of restaurants, and doesn’t have the “house party” feel that some B&Bs do.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

After a week with our extended (daughters, their mates and grandfairies) family making it 10 people of various sizes in a rented house in Avon on the Outer Banks, my wife and I opted to head back to Ohio via Winston-Salem in order to visit some friends there.

Upon our arrival, this being an older house, the walls in places baring a couple water stains making, at least me wonder if we had made a correct decision, we were instantly eased by the manner of the Innkeeper. Ken is charming, intelligent, and simply a very nice fellow. He upgraded us to room 219.

Entering the foyer for the room, the first thing that struck us was hanging on the coat rack. A man's walking cane, and a feather boa. This spoke to a genteel sense of style and detail, something we found throughout.

To the left was the bathroom, with the very large Jacuzzi. Sitting on it were towels and a bubble bath. There were tea candles spread around the room and a full box of stick matches at hand to light them. The room with the shower (both American and European shower arrangements) and commode also had a towel heater. A step up to a dressing table yielded tissues and lotion. And of course, recognizing that no proper bathroom suite should go without, there was the mandatory yellow rubber ducky perched in the corner of the jacuzzi.

To the right of the foyer was the bedroom, a small table next to the window beautifully set for breakfast. It had a kingsize bed with wonderful pillows and linens, an antique headboard mounted behind it cleverly, as 'antique' and 'kingsize' generally don't find one another. A rattan settee and coffee table sat at the foot of the bed. There was a writing table with a working old upright Royal typewriter. Next to that sat an Oxford Dictionary, a deck of cards, scorekeeping pad and a pen. Interesting and appropriate artwork and other knicknacks and the like were tastefully placed around the room. Neither of us had ever held an ostrich egg, and now we know how heavy they are.

The breakfast was as described in other reviews. I figured there would be a quiche OR a ham bisquit. I'm not a bid broccoli person, but my wife loved it and I was fine with the toasted bagel, yogurt, fruit, fresh OJ and coffee. We DID try to order the French Toast for my wife and, alas, Ken was unable to provide it that day for some unknown reason.

After meeting him the morning of, all communications were by notes. i suspect had we needed something, a call would have brought him running, but otherwise, we felt alone, private and cozy in this wonderful house. When he first toured us through the suite, he showed us how to operate the Hi Def flat screen TV attached to the wall, with thousands of tunes, over 400 movies we could order up free, and cable. The mini fridge and microwave, by the way, were concealed in a lovely and appropriate wardrobe.

I should note Summit Street also offers a very nice billiards room and an exercise room. Additionally, when we made our arrangements Ken offered to make restaurant reservations for us and displays a large basket of menus to peruse.. oh... and lovely robes in the bedroom.

As we weren't there during cold months we can't speak to the heat and insulation, but the air conditioning and ceiling fans worked great during our stay.

This B&B makes us far more likely to come visit our friends again, as we could certainly see this Inn being a point of destination in and of itself. I've stayed at a number of fine Inns and five star hotels. This is among the most enjoyable stays I've had at any of them

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, VA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

I normally write good reviews because I follow the advice of tripadvisor members and have been seldom lead astray. This time, I have a mixed review. This may be partially do to the fact that I recently read a book talking about taking ownership and having exceptional service. I am now noticing how service is not often given.

For starters it is a lovely home and the room was spacious with a large Jacuzzi tub. They do have the nice Apple TV with movies for free etc. We stayed in room 219.

The disappointment are as follows:

1) We are used to a traditional B&B where the breakfast is hot and something to look forward to. For example, we recently stayed at the Legacy Inn in Williamsburg and it was wonderful. Here, the breakfast is in a mini-fridge to be heated in the microwave. In addition, they offer French toast for an additional $5.95 per person (mind you we paid $199.00 for the night). Problem here is that we needed to leave by 8:45 AM. The innkeeper/owner, said the hot breakfast was only offered from 9:30-10:30. When we expressed our disappointment, he said, sorry – “I can only work 12 hours a day”. Please note that in the inn information located in the room, it stated the hot breakfast could be served from 8:30-10:30.
2) The room: the bed was nice and TV nice, but the thermostat was broken (with a sticky note on it) so instead, there were 3 space heaters throughout the room. This is February – so cold. There is a fireplace but a charge of $12.00 for it’s use. Seems to me, a 5-star B&B would a) fix the thermostat or b) throw in the fireplace for free.
3) Jacuzzi – was nice size but missing the shower head so a pipe stuck out near the faucet – odd we thought.
4) This is minor - but we couldn't find any shampoo - not sure if we just didn't look in the right place.

Overall – the innkeepers attitude over the breakfast is reason enough for us to stay elsewhere. This is not a B&B – it is an Inn. We stayed there about 3 years ago when it was under a different name and in our opinion – it was better 3 years ago.

  • Disliked — innkeeper attitude
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennygwen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

We have stayed at a number of B and Bs, hostels and hotels and this is one of the best for atmosphere. It is very private. As mentioned, it is not for socializing, as breakfast is left in your fridge, unless you order french toast. The quiche was delicious though and the fruit and yogurt were good too. We didn't get a ham biscuit as stated, but it was unneeded.

What made this place was the room. The fire was worth the extra charge and the jacuzzi was huge. We could both sit next to each other. We enjoyed the B and B so much that we stayed 2 nights instead of one. We LOVED the Apple TV music and even watched a movie. Everything was just very romantic and we felt left alone in a good way. Can't wait to return!

  • Liked — The jacuzzi and fireplace- room 221!
  • Disliked — Missed ham biscuit :(....very minor complaint!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summit Street Bed and Breakfast Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Street Bed and Breakfast Inns

Address: 420 Summit Street, 434 Summit Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two adjacent 1887 & 1895 Historic Register Victorian houses. In your room: beautiful antiques, 2-person jacuzzi with bubble bath, candles, & rubber ducky, King bed, TV/VCR/DVD with 450-plus movie library, stereo, phones, fast internet, coffee/tea maker, microwave, mini-refrig, make-up mirror, iron, hair dryer, robes. Full breakfast in room. Nautilus Exercise Room, Billiard Room. Wine/champagne/beer. Fine dining, pubs, park, & antique shops one to two blocks away. Near downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summit Winston Salem
Winston Salem Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Street Bed and Breakfast Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Summit Street Bed and Breakfast Inns to your Saves list