We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foothills Brewing

Foothills Brewing
638 West 4th St, Winston Salem, NC 27101
+1 336-777-3348
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 570 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great local beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Greta place to grab some really good local crafted beer. The food is good and enjoy to the atmosphere. Loved the beer sampler !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoothillsBrewing, General Manager at Foothills Brewing, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    85
    40
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best beer in North Carolina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great service and great food! A must in Winston-Salem. Try the Fish and chips with a Hoppyum or any of their fat delicious burgers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoothillsBrewing, General Manager at Foothills Brewing, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Friend and I sat at the bar. We enjoyed our several beers and the pretzels with cheese dip. The bar tended was very knowledgeable about the beers.

I returned later after an event for another pint while waiting on a friend. I was in the restaurant this time. I observed a particularly untrained staff. Also due to the construction of the building it was rather loud especially with a band.

I'd suggest enjoying beers and apps in the bar on a nice afternoon.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoothillsBrewing, Manager at Foothills Brewing, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the review, I'm glad your experience in the bar was pleasant. And I'm sorry your second experience did not match up. We strive endlessly to make sure our staff is well trained. I hope you give us another chance. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Go for beer, not food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Let's just be real - Foothills is about the beer. The head brewer Jamie is a master at creating great brews - from the basic Salem Gold to the ultra complex Sexual Chocolate, he is a beer savant! This is why you go. Staying real, the bar food is fair to average - do not under any circumstance expect fine dinning. Get wings, burgers, onion rings, most anything fried will be OK, but don't look for greatness on a plate. Sadly, it's not there. I really wish the management would up their game on their food. A little salt and pepper would go a long way. Remember the greatness is in the pint glasses. I've sought out local breweries all over the US and I been a home brewer for more than 20 years; Jamie's beer is the real deal. There should be something for any beer lover on his list - even if your a CoorMilWiser lover, this is the place to expand your palate and your horizons. Have a couple of pints or try a sampler, you won't regret it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoothillsBrewing, Manager at Foothills Brewing, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for the review, and I'm sorry you aren't a big fan of our food. Any suggestions?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fairly consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Food is decent beer is all over the board prices are high, and service is spotty. Fun place when it all comes together, disappointment if it doesn't but it is close to therbars so not to worry theres always another bar in Winston Salem

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoothillsBrewing, Manager at Foothills Brewing, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thanks for the review, Milespert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foothills Brewing also viewed

 

Been to Foothills Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foothills Brewing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.