We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical 18th century tavern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern in Old Salem

The Tavern in Old Salem
736 S Main St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5331
336-722-1227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 570 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Private Dining
Description: Built in 1816, the tavern has 5 intimate dining rooms and a small full service bar. Waitstaff dresses in historic costume during the day.Dine by candlelight in the evening.
Toronto
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Typical 18th century tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stopped at the Tavern for lunch. The fare gave us an excellent choice. I chose the soup of the day and a chicken club sandwich. My wife just had the chicken club sandwich. What I did expect to find was a period non-alcholic drink.
The soup and sandwich were very good.
This establishment is definately not friendly to someone with mobility problems. Access to the building is via steps. The washrooms are upstairs, and a very tight fit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    71
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just to try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I went there after hearing a review on the radio. The food lived up to my expectations and the atmosphere was great. Good place for anniversary or datenight.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Step back into a time when Salem wasn't old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

George Washington really did sleep next door to this tavern style restaurant. Get the Moravian chicken pie -- mmm, mmm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dinner at The Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well prepared food. Great salads. Love their Ribs. Ambiance great. Would prefer that salad be included with entree.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Recently ate lunch there (really tasty mustard chicken salad) and then returned the next night for dinner (Moravian chicken pie). Bread and desserts were great too. Compared to dining at the taverns in Colonial Williamsburg, I thought that the prices were reasonable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern in Old Salem also viewed

Winston Salem, NC
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to The Tavern in Old Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern in Old Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.