We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise in Winston Salem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami's Cafe

Miami's Cafe
3088 Healy Drive, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 515 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great surprise in Winston Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Had an opportunity to eat lunch here and wow what a treat. Sandwich are huge and delicious. Fries and orings are ok but the treat is the sammy. Give it a try. The average reviews are not giving enough credit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC mountains
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

An average rating is probably too low for Miami's Cafe only because I didn't care much for my Cuban sandwich. It was good, had on it what a Cuban sandwich should, and was a generous size. Only drawback was that the pork was shredded instead of sliced. There was a lot of it so it overpowered all the other flavors (ham, swill, mustard. Even the pickle!) We frequent Miami's Calle Ocho so we've eaten plenty of Cuban sandwiches. Like I said, the food was not bad. It just wasn't made the way I'm used to having it. Please don't let my review hinder you from visiting one of Winston's only Cuban restaurants. The staff was extremely nice and we loved the Cuban music they had playing. Aside from seeing Maple trees outside I felt like we were back in Miami.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

There is much here, and not so much, all at the same time. This little place (occupies about 1/2 half the space of the pizza place that used to be here - some kind of Brothers, or Guys, or such) offers some big tastes from a very, very limited menu, and most of that is about sandwiches, bread, and a few dessert items.

The sandwiches start, of course, with the Cubano - slice ham, shredded, roast pork, cheese, & pickles on a very nicely toasted roll. And though I am not from Florida, or NYC, and have never been to Cuba, this seems to be a very, very good version of this classic sandwich - I have eaten one or two others before. The sandwich is large - invite a friend along large - and at $5.95, this is a very good value. Might want to ask that they go a little lite on the mustard.

The Media Noche is comprised of the same basis composition as the Cubano, but is considerably smaller, and is on an egg roll, rather than the standard Cuban roll. Though at $5.25 it is not the value that the Cubano is, it is still a very, very good sandwich, and they got the mustard right on this one.

The Fried Plantains were excellent - fried just right, with the right amount of sweetness in them -$2.25 for a side order.

This is a nice little place, with limited choices, decent value, and nice folks. This is not fast food, so accept it as such.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Cubano outside of Cuba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I haven't had the occasion to eat a lot of Cuban food, BUT, this place is awesome. Sure it is just a tiny, unpretentious joint with a few tables and Mama and Papa and a few kids working their hearts out to give you the best and they do. It is not glamorous but when the food comes you are on another plain.
If you order the Cubano sandwich, you had better be a big guy with a big appetite. It is huge! Seriously consider sharing one or having great leftovers. The tostones, fried plantain, are truly the best I have ever had. Their bread and bakery are wonderful and the deserts way to good to be true.
Go, relax and enjoy. It is GREAT!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Cuban sandwiches and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This sandwich shop in a shopping strip is only about 10 minutes from downtown. We thought it would have a wide-ranging menu but it really only has a handful of sandwiches plus bread and traditional Cuban desserts. We had Cuban sandwiches and a Medianoche. Both were very good and reminded us of Miami. We also had the guava pastries and the guava with cream cheese pastries (a personal favorite). They were perfect. The staff was friendly as well and the prices were right. Just know that it only has sandwiches and don't expect more.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Miami's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.