We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great, service not so much!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Bakery

Camino Bakery
310 W 4th Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
(336)721-9990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Bakeries in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food great, service not so much!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I visited Camino bakery twice while in town for 5 days from the UK. The first time was for lunch with friends and the food was delicious and the staff were very friendly. The second time was about 9pm on a week night for a cupcake and glass of wine. The red velvet cupcake was really nice but the guy serving could not have been less friendly. No help at all with the wine choice and definitely didn't want to be there. It was a shame as I follow Camino on Instagram and was really looking forward to visiting while in town.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“This is good coffee... Take note Star*uckers,coffee is not meant to be bitter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The ultimate irony re: the lack of good coffee spots with the proliferation of Starbucks- people miss out on good coffee value at the independent alternate storefronts.
Camino is just the typical atmosphere with better baked goods and much better coffee thanks to the local roaster Krankies.
Whenever possible, I make a pilgrimage to the drive up Krankies coffee stand. The one in an Airstream trailer.
Too often people seem to think that:1)Good coffee is determined by price, 2)Starbucks has better coffee.

During my residency in Seattle during the 90's, better coffee could be had almost anywhere but at a SB's. SB actually was beat by the avg. sidewalk
coffee cart.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Coming from New Zealand I was excited to find a good expresso style coffee. If this is what your craving stop in here and give it a try, great atmosphere and a wide range of delicious baked foods to boot

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caminobakery, Owner at Camino Bakery, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review of Camino! So glad to have a Kiwi stop in!!!! We strive extremely hard to create delicious drinks, scrumptious food, and a lovely atmosphere, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much. Our entire staff takes great pride in what we do, and I'll pass along your review to let the whole Camino team know how well they're doing. We really appreciate your business and are so glad that you had a wonderful visit to Camino! We look forward to having you back with us next time you're in our hemisphere/neck of the woods!

Thanks,

Cary Clifford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stopped in on a cool fall night. I had the cinnamon caramel apple cider. It was amazing. She had a Latte that she is still raving about. The atmosphere is exceptional. They had a wide variety of drinks and baked goods. Outstanding place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caminobakery, Owner at Camino Bakery, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review of Camino! Yum, cinnamon caramel apple cider! We strive extremely hard to create delicious drinks, scrumptious food, and a lovely atmosphere, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much. Our entire staff takes great pride in what we do, and I'll pass along your review to let the whole Camino team know how well they're doing. We really appreciate your business and are so glad that you had a wonderful visit to Camino! We look forward to having you back with us next time you're in our neck of the woods!

Thanks,

Cary Clifford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Uggghhhh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

If a guy holds a door open for you and let's you in only to advise you they are closing and you say well I was going to try some of your coffee and he says but we're closing good sign that they don't give a crap about customers...what a Crappy thing to do saw all the good reviews bummer that I can't do the the same i will tell all my friends that this place blows and 4 recommended it I just texted them and told them about it and they were disappointed to top it off i was pushing my daughter in a wheelchair still was denied tells ya what kind of people they are too...poor poor customer service when you can't pour coffee after you actually let them in then you shouldn't be open all bad Karma coming your way now

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caminobakery, Owner at Camino Bakery, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
I'm so sorry you had a negative experience at Camino. We hope you'll give us a second chance, but we certainly understand if you don't. We're also grateful to you for pointing out our shortcomings and mistakes. We always try to learn. Our apologies.

Best regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camino Bakery also viewed

Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Camino Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.