We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Bakery

Camino Bakery
310 W 4th Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
(336)721-9990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 582 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Winston Salem, NC USA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The latte I had was really good (not every coffee shop/bakery can say that), the baked item was really good (they have a decent selection for a small place), the staff was friendly enough. I've been several times and will go again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Everything is ungodly good! Cant even describe how luscious and sinfully wonderful ALL their desserts are. BEST sticky buns I have EVER had. The desserts are a little pricy but worth EVERY CENT. The staff is SUPER friendly! They will bake anything you want even off menu. The bananna bread is the best ive ever had. You owe it to yourself to try Camino and see for yourself!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Addicted to the Sweets, Sandwiches, and Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Camino has sold some of its goods in coffee shops for a few years, including pumpkin bread, amazing (and huge!) chocolate chip cookies, and vegetarian sandwiches, and the shop really showcases the quality in Camino's craft. The shop provides a beautiful space to:
-grab pastry and coffee in the morning
-eat lunch with a small group or on your own
-get some wine and beer and share an evening dessert with your special someone (e.g. after a movie or theater outing downtown).

The staff are helpful and friendly, and the owners are often around to chat and keep things going. Also, it is a family friendly restaurant, with a few toys for kids. Some of my favorite items (selection varies daily):
-Pain au chocolat
-Coconut swirl
-Sweet potato bundt cakes
-Chocolate chip cookies
-the TED sandwich
-Any quiche (fresh from the oven--they don't seem to last long!!)
-Cranberry walnut and sourdough breads, the list goes on...

The coffee is excellent and is worthy of a stop in and of itself. Winston's quality of living has been seriously elevated by the opening of Camino Bakery on 4th St.!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best weekday hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

High quality! Classy! Affordable! My spot! You'll love the friendly staff and extensive menu. I'm not a vegetarian and I'm still very happy with my options. Their semolina bread is my absolute favorite!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best little bakery in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I LOVED this spot, which i discovered while visiting for a conference and staying at the MArriot downtown. It has absolutely delicious pastries, and a very wide variety including spumoni, brioche and many other exotic pastries which are FAR better than anything at the chain stores. the cafe aspect is good too, with real chai (not the syrup). The staff are friendly, the ambience is lovely - a lot of local regulars visit and chat with the owner and staff, giving it that neighbourhood ambience. the decor is polished wood, modern and clean. and best of all, it also functions as a wine bar and stays open till midnight!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caminobakery, Owner at Camino Bakery, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thanks so much for your review of Camino Bakery! We try really hard to create delicious drinks,scrumptious food, and a lovely atmosphere. We really appreciate your business and are so glad that you had a wonderful visit to Camino! Many thanks!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camino Bakery also viewed

Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Camino Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.