We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confessions of a carb addict” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lobster

Red Lobster
1690 Westbrook Plaza Dr, Winston Salem, NC 27103-2992
336-768-3110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #314 of 570 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Confessions of a carb addict”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

OK, true confession time – I go to Red Lobster for the garlic biscuits – period. The food is unexceptional but my goodness, those biscuits. This time I ordered the dozen “hand breaded” fried shrimp from the lunch menu, which were one centimeter above a popcorn style with a tail. For my sides I ordered the crispy red potatoes and caesar salad. My luncheon companion ordered the soup and salad, with clam chowder being her soup of choice. She commented that the amount of clam in the chowder was minimal. But again, the biscuits were divine!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    5
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winston salem
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and recently renovated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant is a favorite of ours. We have always had excellent service and wonderful food. I had the shrimp tacos this time and they were wonderful. The tacos were made the authentic Mexican way with cilantro and salsa. Excellent!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clemmons
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“never going again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

would give it zero stars. only been 4 times, the most recent will be our last. 1.had to wait 10 minutes when there were more than 20 empty tables. i counted. 2. my wife's tilapia tasted like it had been under a heat lamp for 2 days, dry, tasted horrible, left a bad aftertaste. she got sick from it. literally puked. 3. my garlic shrimp was garlic-less. 4. portions were smaller than any time before. 5. noticed as we were leaving, the sanitation score was 92. i can't recall seeing a lower score anywhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I always have high hopes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It never fails that my husband and I want to relive the Red Lobster experience that we had many years ago. The food and service then were excellent. Unfortunately, the food has deteriorated severely year after year. The service at this location was good, not excellent, but good. The food was definitely not worth the price tag. The shrimp cocktail was the highlight of the meal. It was all downhill after that. Our seafood was all overdone, which is a shame.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Ate lunch which was a big disappointment. The salad tasted like it had been prepared hours before and put in freezer. My shrimp linguini was dry and no taste. The best thing my husband had was the roasted potatoes. Overpriced. Will be our last trip. Will go down the street to Jimmy's Seafood and Oyster Bar for our seafood!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.