We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checking out in the morning. ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Peters Creek Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27127   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Checking out in the morning. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I trusted the reviews on TripAdvisor and how they are wrong. I got I real late, had regards about this hotel but I didn't feel like looking for a new hotel. Very questionable neighborhood, plenty of strip clubs nearby so you figure it out. In addition, the hotel is very close to a busy highway. Make sure you can get a room away from the road noise.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Whammie787,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay, particularly with the location and challenges you had with the noise. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves in. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this gives us the opportunity to improve on our guest satisfaction. We hope for another chance to serve you here again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
7
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

What can I say but excellent hotel....My husband and I usually stay at the Wingate by Wyndham on Main St but they was booked,so we asked is there a Holiday Inn Express nearby and we was directed to this beautiful hotel...All we can say is O MY GOD what a most amazing time and experience we had at this hotel...Our room was very clean and comfortable...the entire hotel was immaculate..The breakfast was to die for..Whenever we come to visit our daughter we have found our home away from home...Will be there on May 16....OVERALL EXPERIENCE....TEN THUMBS UP:):):)

Room Tip: Rooms near the vending and ice machine are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Its always a pleasure to read reports like this. I have shared your wonderful comments with our team members to remind them that the hard work they do daily to uphold the commitment of what is expected of our brand is maintained. We look forward to your May 16th Visit.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Had to come down from WV unexpectedly during Easter weekend due to my dad being in the hospital. The front desk staff were nice and professional. The breakfast was decent, nothing spectacular but enough to feed myself and my kids. Our room was very clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. I had no issues with noise from traffic (room 110). I would stay again, but honestly hope I don't have to!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
It is good to know that when our guests are in need of our services, that there are team members here to help them along their stay. Thank you for your kind words about our Team members and their efforts to help make your stay and enjoyable one. I will pass your feedback along to them.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were driving home from Myrtle beach SC to Buffalo, NY when we decided to stop a night in Winston-Salem to visit friends. We had used Holiday Inn points and said it was for two adults and our son. When we got to the hotel and they saw our son was an adult they upgraded us to a junior suite. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helped us find where we were going for dinner. After dinner all six of us came back to the hotel for coffee and talk and there was plenty of room for all. The morning breakfast was good and we even enjoyed the Jacuzzi. I would Definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front but the high way traffis was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Its great to hear that our recently renovated hotel met your satisfaction. In reading your experience, this is the kind of warm hospitality that our team members are expected to deliver. I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team and we look forward to your future visit with us again.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem,NC
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Power... was out at home so we packed up the family and took refuge here.....now - cannot fault the Hotel for the chaos...lots of families were "camping out" as the whole town was out of power in spooty places. Rooms were hard to cpme by- BUT - SOME, not all, of the front desk staff really need to step up their game. #1 rule - no personal cell phones should be anywhere in site of costomers. I should not have to wait for ANYTHING while they are finishing up a personal call - EVER, EVER!!!!!
Waited for coffee refills - waited to have questions answered not good.
Heat is 'old school' and needs updating...for the price of this room needs updating.
Just not the experience I expected for the PRICE.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Outlanders,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A simple, easy hotel with a nice breakfast and friendly staff. The hotel is nothing special; it is merely a Holiday Inn Express, but the beds were comfortable and the location was good for shopping and eating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment about our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were very impressed with the quality and responsiveness of the staff. The breakfast was hot and was very tasty. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. My family loved the area, and this was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Choose odd numbered room to be on the quiet side of the hotel, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I am always pleased to read Excellent reviews from our guests. I share this feedback with the team members to encourage and reinforce the impact of their service and hard work.

Thank you again,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem

Address: 2520 Peters Creek Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel.Looking for that home away from home while travelling? Our Holiday Inn Express in Winston Salem, NC is just what you re looking for. We are conveniently located directly off Interstate 40 at exit 192, or Business 40 exit 5-A (head south). We feature free high speed ethernet and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. We have microwave and minifridges in most of our guest rooms. Enjoy our complimentary business and fitness centers to keep you up to date and in shape. In the area for business? We are located just minutes from the following Winston Salem companies: Krispy Kreme Headquarters, Wachovia and BB&T corporate headquarters in downtown Winston Salem. The Benton Convention Center, Wake Forrest University, Winston Salem State University, North Carolina School of the Arts, Department of Transportation, Salem College, Baptist Hospital , Forsyth Hospital and the VA Hospital in Winston Salem, NC. High Point Furniture Market is only about 30 miles from the hotel. In the area for leisure? We are located near the following leisure attractions: The Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum (LJVM), Old Salem tourist community, Tanglewood Park, Hanes Mall, Reynolda House, and Sciworks (just to name a few). In addition, we just finished a complete renovation of our property March 2013!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Holiday Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.